Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
How interesting is 1 or 2 cores + all deluxe expansions (+ the Corruption cycle)? I would like to know if this provides a good deck building experience for casual play—or if some things will feel like they are missing.

I have no experience with this game and could not find any relevant thread that could help me decide whether to get this or not (they come as a secondhand bundle).

Any thoughts would be much appreciated!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santi Velasco
Spain
Mairena del Aljarafe
Seville
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First of all, I am by no means an expert player. But I did go through all this because I wanted sort of a "closed" set to play with my buddies.

Short answer: Yes, I think is a very good deal (if the price is right).

Long answer: first things first. The absolute minimum would be 1 core set + assault on ulthuan. This will provide you with 6 ready to play faction decks out of the box(es), with very few deckbuilding options other than splashing other factions cards in the decks (like putting some empire in your dwarves and so on).
From this point on, anything you add will increase your deckbuilding options. Some things that I was told when looking for info:

- If you're getting battle packs, it's better to get a whole cycle because all cards in each cycle are sort of balanced together. Special caveat regarding the Corruption cycle: it's the only cycle coming with less than 3 copies for some cards, and certain cards (skaven specially) will need more than the copies provided, so you will need more than 1 copy of some packs. AS you say you'll be playing casually, maybe that is not a problem if you don't mind playing with photocopied proxies.