Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: More then one Shadow card on an enemy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joakim Schön
Sweden
Alingsås
Sverige
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can an enemy card have more then one shadow card? They should get shadow cards until all enemies have 1 card (not at least 1 card). So if an enemy already have 1 shadow card I will not give it a second shadow card so the attack will have 2 shadow cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Valerio Vitelli
Italy
Pavia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Yes, enemy can have more than one shadow cards.
At the beginning of the combat phase they get 1 more shadow card no matter what, doesn't matter if they already have one or more due to other effects.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joakim Schön
Sweden
Alingsås
Sverige
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok I thought so, even if I could not read it in the rules. Not clear from the rule book.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Buchholz
United States
Middleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
joakim589 wrote:
Can an enemy card have more then one shadow card? They should get shadow cards until all enemies have 1 card (not at least 1 card). So if an enemy already have 1 shadow card I will not give it a second shadow card so the attack will have 2 shadow cards?

Usually the enemy card will specify when there is to be more than one shadow card and when it is drawn, if the encounter deck happens to run out first then no more shadow cards are dealt out because the encounter deck specifically doesn't get "reset" unless a card effect tells it to or you are in the quest phase.
For instance there are enemies that say deal it additional shadow card(s) when it attacks, if after the initial dealing of shadow cards (player order around the table) there are no encounter cards left then that enemy won't get it's extra card. Indeed if you run out of cards on the initial dealing of shadow cards some enemies won't get even one. This has saved our group several times because we can defend exactly against enemies with no shadow card and save enough to whack it in the attack window, and even have an extra ranged character to help someone else. Of course you will face the entire encounter deck starting the next quest phasewhistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joakim Schön
Sweden
Alingsås
Sverige
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dren608 wrote:
Usually the enemy card will specify when there is to be more than one shadow card


Do you have any example?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Renaud
Canada
Mission
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dol Guldur Beastmaster is one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goulette
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
joakim589 wrote:
Dren608 wrote:
Usually the enemy card will specify when there is to be more than one shadow card


Do you have any example?


Dol Guldur Beastmaster (core set) gets a second shadow card when it attacks. The text on the card required an errata/clarification because it wasn't worded well.

http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-c...

Also see the FAQ errrata:
https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/64/ee...

Page 2:

Quote:

Dol Guldur Beastmster CORE 91
Should read: “Forced: When Dol Guldur Beastmaster
attacks...”
The additional shadow card is dealt when the Dol
Guldur Beastmaster is chosen during step 1 of enemy
attack resolution.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joakim Schön
Sweden
Alingsås
Sverige
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. Have not played the core set in a long time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Valerio Vitelli
Italy
Pavia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
In the against the shadow cycle there is a orc that when engages you gives a shadow card to each enemy engaged with you and shadow effects that deal one or multiple new shadow cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joakim Schön
Sweden
Alingsås
Sverige
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right; Blood of Gondor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.