Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Forbidden Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: 1st play questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Keith Burkhead
msg tools
orbital strike-roll dice only one time or is treated like a normal combat?

do ground units have any defense against an orbital strike?

can ships invade an already occupied void? if so, is it treated like a normal combat?

routed land units-do they continue to add their die to combat?

does bleed over damage carry over into the next round of combat?

stupid questions I know....I await the gracious wisdom of the forum?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Bonneau
United States
Springfield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
one roll. if you get a kill, you get a kill.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BKB2006 wrote:
orbital strike-roll dice only one time or is treated like a normal combat?

Just one roll.

BKB2006 wrote:
do ground units have any defense against an orbital strike?

A bastion--a planet with a bastion is invulnerable to orbital strike. Otherwise, no.

BKB2006 wrote:
can ships invade an already occupied void? if so, is it treated like a normal combat?

Yes, that's how ships fight.

BKB2006 wrote:
routed land units-do they continue to add their die to combat?

Yes. The dice are for the combat as a whole. Routed units don't contribute abilities on combat cards, and don't have any morale.

BKB2006 wrote:
does bleed over damage carry over into the next round of combat?

"Bleed over damage"? I don't understand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Randolph
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BKB2006 wrote:
orbital strike-roll dice only one time or is treated like a normal combat?


Only one time

BKB2006 wrote:
do ground units have any defense against an orbital strike?


No, ground/planetary units do not have any defense against an orbital strike - however, Bastions "shield" ground/planetary units from orbital strikes, there are upgrades that allow ships to conduct an orbital strike even when a bastion is present on the planet

BKB2006 wrote:
can ships invade an already occupied void? if so, is it treated like a normal combat?


Yes, this is how space combat is initiated

BKB2006 wrote:
routed land units-do they continue to add their die to combat?


This question is primarily why I decided to also answer your questions even though others already have. Combat dice that have already been rolled before the combat execution rounds are not removed because a unit becomes routed, however, if there are units at the Beginning of a combat, which start combat in a routed state, THESE routed units do not add combat dice

BKB2006 wrote:
does bleed over damage carry over into the next round of combat?


No, damage does not carry over between combat execution rounds, only the effects, or the condition of the units carries over; eg, you have 6 total guns from dice and cards against me, I have 3 total shields from dice and cards, the net damage is three, I rout a 4 health unit that I have in the combat; that "3" net damage does not carry over into the next execution round, it is NOT added in the next execution rounds net totals, it is erased, but the effect, the routed condition of my unit DOES carry over into the next execution round
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.