Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about Dragon v.s. Thief rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Chang
Taiwan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just had a game with my friend which we played as Dragon v.s. Thief.

1. Since the rulebook only mentions that the thief gains a treasure from treasure boxes and dragon gems, we assume that in this variant, the crystal "tokens" are totally useless (and event tokens as well). Is that correct?

2. If the thief carries a dragon gem, after he/she successfully stashes it, the gem is given back to the dragon player, and forcing the dragon player having to place that one gem again if needed, right?

3. Since there's no cave player, I assume that the dragon player should be the one who decides where a treasure box should be placed at the end of his/her turn (just like in a 4 player game without the thief) because it'd be impossible for the thief to place it, let's say next to himself/herself, and then grab it just the next turn, right?

4. This should be a general question. If the dragon player uses wrath to collapse certain tiles which tokens are on, are those tokens ought to be given back to the owning players?

5. Apart from filling up open edges of lit tiles revealed, does any of the players need to draw and place any numbers of cave tiles at the end of their turns? Or do they just simply try to do the things mentioned on the Ash Dragon card so as to get more cave tiles in play?


This game is superb yet pretty complicated in a lot of the trivia parts, so please pardon me if some of them have been already mentioned somehow and somewhere...

Thanks for the reply and clarifications!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The Mysterious Manor
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
humanpaul wrote:
1. Since the rulebook only mentions that the thief gains a treasure from treasure boxes and dragon gems, we assume that in this variant, the crystal "tokens" are totally useless (and event tokens as well). Is that correct?
Correct. Without the Knight in play there's no need to place Event tokens, and without the Knight or the Cave you (usually) won't need Crystal tokens.

Quote:
2. If the thief carries a dragon gem, after he/she successfully stashes it, the gem is given back to the dragon player, and forcing the dragon player having to place that one gem again if needed, right?
Correct. It goes back to the Dragon's supply when stashed, and will have to be placed again to gain the benefit.

Quote:
3. Since there's no cave player, I assume that the dragon player should be the one who decides where a treasure box should be placed at the end of his/her turn (just like in a 4 player game without the thief) because it'd be impossible for the thief to place it, let's say next to himself/herself, and then grab it just the next turn, right?
When there's no Cave player, treasure placement is determined by whichever player gets the Past Plunder variant card. The Role Variants section near the end of the rulebook gives the details for that depending on the specific player combination.

In this particular combination neither player gets that card, so there is no extra treasure placement. They'll both have to fight over whatever treasures appear on revealed tiles.

Quote:
4. This should be a general question. If the dragon player uses wrath to collapse certain tiles which tokens are on, are those tokens ought to be given back to the owning players?
Yes.

Quote:
5. Apart from filling up open edges of lit tiles revealed, does any of the players need to draw and place any numbers of cave tiles at the end of their turns? Or do they just simply try to do the things mentioned on the Ash Dragon card so as to get more cave tiles in play?
In games with 2 or more players but no Cave, each player draws and places one tile at the end of their turn. When the collapse starts they'll remove three instead.

Multiple tiles get placed at the end of a turn only when playing solo, as directed by the Alone in the Dark variant card.

Quote:
This game is superb yet pretty complicated in a lot of the trivia parts, so please pardon me if some of them have been already mentioned somehow and somewhere...

Thanks for the reply and clarifications!
You're welcome! It's always good to hear people are enjoying it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.