United States
Decatur
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For those who haven't seen it, the solo rules are here:
https://www.daysofwonder.com/five-tribes/en#goodies

It was easy to adapt Artisans to these rules, and, really, easy with Whims as well (there's just an 8-sided die involved now, etc.) The one thing I'm stuck on is the massive scoring for the Fabulous Cities. If you keep it the way it is, it allows a huge swing in points depending on how Yazid rolls, and it would make it foolish to to anything other than just try to snatch those Cities as quickly as possible.

Right now I'm thinking of just nerfing the bonus you get to 5 for one city, 10 for two, 15, 20, 25. But I'm not good with math -- i.e., figuring out correct or consistent proportions relative to the other scoring possibilities in the game. Any opinions? Better solutions?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Williams
msg tools
OK Bro, I’ll try since:

1) I like Five Tribes
2) I like a bit of math (potentially a corollary of 1)

Firstly can I state that this is my first post to the Geek, I prefer to read other people’s posts but you’ve coaxed me out of hiding.

Let’s begin.

Quote:
It was easy to adapt Artisans to these rules, and, really, easy with Whims as well (there's just an 8-sided die involved now, etc.)

Get what you saying but let’s not be too hasty as ‘etc’ leaves a lot open for interpretation. One of the aspects of the solo game that you must retain (IMO) is the fear of Yazid’s Double Clearance. In Base Solo this occurs 1/6 times and should be kept the same. Both AoN and WotS contribute 6 additional tiles of which 1 is non-playable which should be removed (Chasm and Great Lake). Therefore a 5x7 grid should be used for 1 expansion and a 5x8 for both combined. As you say an 8-sided die is perfect for a replacement ‘white’ die but when using only 1 expansion a result of 8 should simply be rerolled.