Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

1846: The Race for the Midwest» Forums » Rules

Subject: When do you pay the debt for B4 and MS? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthias Mörk
Sweden
Luleå
Norrbotten
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You pay the price for the company as soon you acuire it, but when do you pay the debt?

In the rulesexample I understand that you pay it as soon you acuire it from your personal money but some people say that the debt is paid off when it is aquired by a public company?

What is the correct way to play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens
Germany
Wiesbaden
flag msg tools
A man, a plan:
badge
Anal Panama
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They're paid off on purchase by the player, see section 3.1 of the rules:
Quote:
Their costs include both their list prices […] and their debts […]
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Mörk
Sweden
Luleå
Norrbotten
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To be clear, you pay the bank the purchase price, and then the bank pays $40 to the Big 4 treasury and $60 to the Michigan Southern treasury.

This is just being pedantic except in the case where someone buys one of these at less than the $100 or $140 it usually costs (because it's the last card left in the draft and the Priority Deal player passes it to the right.) For example, suppose the person to the right of the PD player buys the Big 4 for only $90 (this can happen in our group.) They pay $90 to the bank, and the bank pays $40 to the treasury. If you thought of it as "paying the debt", you might conclude that the bank got cheated, since it only netted $50 on a $60 debt. But that's not how it works.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.