Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flute of the Outer Gods and Diana's ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bálint Arszenovits
msg tools
Hello,

The scenario we encountered wasn't straightforward, regarding the rules.

We were playing against Yig, and we had Diana in the group, also had the artifact, called "Flute of the Outer Gods".

In the FAQ or the Rulebook, there is written, epic monsters can not be banished, only defeated the normal way. But, there are priorities for the rules.
Rulebook < FAQ < Component

Diana's ability and the flute's ability said: "monsters", and not "non-epic" monsters. This means, it should affect epic monsters too, based on the FAQ. Also as a component, it overrides the FAQ too, so it should affect epic monsters too.

My questions are the following:

1, Can the Flute of Outer Gods defeat epic monsters?
2, Can Diana's ability defeat epic monsters, if there is a cultist monster on that space?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Arszi wrote:
Hello,

The scenario we encountered wasn't straightforward, regarding the rules.

We were playing against Yig, and we had Diana in the group, also had the artifact, called "Flute of the Outer Gods".

In the FAQ or the Rulebook, there is written, epic monsters can not be banished, only defeated the normal way. But, there are priorities for the rules.
Rulebook < FAQ < Component

Diana's ability and the flute's ability said: "monsters", and not "non-epic" monsters. This means, it should affect epic monsters too, based on the FAQ. Also as a component, it overrides the FAQ too, so it should affect epic monsters too.

My questions are the following:

1, Can the Flute of Outer Gods defeat epic monsters?
2, Can Diana's ability defeat epic monsters, if there is a cultist monster on that space?


No in both cases. Component rules over-ride book rules, but only when in direct conflict. "Cannot" over-rides "can" so there isn't a conflict between the book rules and these components - the book rules win because they are a "cannot".
8 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emile de Maat
Netherlands
Hengelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
admin
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The reference guide (page 1) says: If an effect uses the word “cannot,” that effect is absolute.

So:
1. No
2. No

Otherwise, since all effects to instantly defeat a monster are on components, they would always overrule the rule in the rulebook, making that rule superfluous.
3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emile de Maat
Netherlands
Hengelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
admin
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Simon was a bit quicker
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bálint Arszenovits
msg tools
Thank you, it is clear now
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan O'Doherty
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
So, can epic monsters be harmed by using spells or resolving encounters etc. that allow you to inflict damage to a monster of your choice etc?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emile de Maat
Netherlands
Hengelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
admin
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, there's nothing that prevents epic monsters to take damage from those sources.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.