Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Flip Ships» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is the atmosphere one space tall or two? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Hay
United States
Owensboro
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the atmosphere handle one card vertically or two? It seems like it should be two spaces tall, but there is nothing in the rule book that I found that says it is. So, if you had a ship that progressed two spaces on the bottom moon row and a ship that moved until it hit something in the space above it, would both of them wind up in the atmosphere after movement, or would the bottom one block the second one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kane Klenko
United States
Ridgeway
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't think of the Atmosphere as separate spaces. It's more of a big open area. Once a ship moves into the Atmosphere it's not really in a column anymore, so it won't block anything.
7 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Campbell
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify with an example of play:

If a column of ships with movement >>>| survive, then they will all enter the atmosphere and damage the city? Two ships with movement >>>| in a column will not impede each other's ability to enter the atmosphere and damage the city.


Thanks,
George
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carrie K
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once an enemy ship enters the atmosphere, it immediately circles back and therefore, does not impede any other ship coming into the atmosphere. In your example, both ships would enter the atmosphere and do damage to the city. Even if there were 3 of those >>>| ships in a column, they would all enter the atmosphere and do damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Campbell
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks much for the clarification!

Racking up more and more plays with the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.