Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Massive Darkness» Forums » General

Subject: How powerful is "Remove one defense die after rolling"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thilo M.
Germany
Wiesbaden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I was thinking about how powerful the removal of one defense die of your choice after rolling in practice is, so I made a simulation in excel. I ignore bams and diamonds.


Blue Green Normal Remove Difference
1 0 0,84 0,00 0,84
2 0 1,67 0,47 1,20
3 0 2,49 1,12 1,38
0 1 1,35 0,00 1,35
1 1 2,17 0,53 1,64
2 1 3,00 1,21 1,79
3 1 3,83 1,97 1,86
0 2 2,68 0,74 1,94
1 2 3,52 1,45 2,07
2 2 4,36 2,24 2,12
3 2 5,17 3,01 2,16
0 3 4,01 1,75 2,26
1 3 4,82 2,52 2,30
2 3 5,64 3,30 2,33
3 3 6,49 4,14 2,35


So the table tells you the expected number of shields for x blue and y green dice and what the expected number is if you remove the best die as well as the difference between the two.

Summary: once the defender has at least 2 green dice, it is about as good as removing two shields. Also, for 3 green dice, it is about as good as rolling a green and a blue die less.

In practice, you might be more interested in the chance to totally block a given attack, but this more difficult to present because it is a buttload of numbers.

Edit - clarified that this is about removal after rolling.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bone White
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: How powerful is "Remove one defense die"?
Important clarification which may affect your study:

If "remove defence die" is an ability, you remove the defence die before rolling.
If it is an enchantment (fuelled by a bam/diamond) then it is removed after rolling.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thilo M.
Germany
Wiesbaden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How powerful is "Remove one defense die"?
Bone White wrote:
Important clarification which may affect your study:

If "remove defence die" is an ability, you remove the defence die before rolling.
If it is an enchantment (fuelled by a bam/diamond) then it is removed after rolling.



Thanks for the clarification! I was talking about the enchantment version as removing before rolling is trivial to calculate...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.