Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Dominion: Intrigue Update Pack» Forums » Rules

Subject: Secret passage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Salvador C. Majoral
Andorra
Argentona, Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
A couple of doubts:
1: You have to put a card anywhere in you deck, does it mean that you can look at the cards of your deck when playing a Secret passage?
2: Donald X. Vaccarino said that Secret passage "it's useful for putting bad cards on the bottom of your deck (where you hope they miss a shuffle)" (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Secret_Passage).
How can cards at the bottom of a deck miss a shuffle?

thank you

S.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zed Z
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say you only have 3 cards left in your draw pile at the end of your turn. You draw those 3, but you have to reshuffle your discard pile to get the last 2 cards for your next hand. Those 3 cards "miss" the shuffle. They are only used once, while the rest of the cards in your deck are used twice.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Pawlak
Poland
near Poznań
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
salva wrote:
A couple of doubts:
1: You have to put a card anywhere in you deck, does it mean that you can look at the cards of your deck when playing a Secret passage?


No, you cannot. You could if you were explicitly allowed to (like in new Stash). Note, that you can count your deck anytime, but it does not mean you can look through it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Why can you look at cards using Stash? I thought that was the idea behind the different card back?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Pawlak
Poland
near Poznań
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was reffering to "you may look through your deck" clause on new Stash - the card explicitly tells you that you can do it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Scothern
United Kingdom
Glasgow
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can look at the backs (e.g.so you can clump stashes together), but not the fronts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Monsen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
m_knox wrote:
I was reffering to "you may look through your deck" clause on new Stash - the card explicitly tells you that you can do it.


while you can look through the deck, it is only the backs of cards you can look at.

you're wiki link even confirms this

Quote:
You can't look at the fronts of the cards you're shuffling;
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Pawlak
Poland
near Poznań
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MunchWolf wrote:
m_knox wrote:
I was reffering to "you may look through your deck" clause on new Stash - the card explicitly tells you that you can do it.


while you can look through the deck, it is only the backs of cards you can look at.

you're wiki link even confirms this

Quote:
You can't look at the fronts of the cards you're shuffling;


The same Wiki link states also this (emphasis mine):
Quote:
If there are any cards in your deck that aren't being shuffled, such as when you had fewer than 5 cards left in your deck when you needed to draw a new hand for next turn, you can look through those remaining cards before putting them on top of your newly shuffled deck, though you can't put Stash in among those remaining cards.


OK, my whole point is that you can look through your deck only if you're explicitly allowed to, and Secret Passage does not allow it. I brought up Stash because it is the only card that grants this right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald X.
United States
flag msg tools
designer
m_knox wrote:
salva wrote:
A couple of doubts:
1: You have to put a card anywhere in you deck, does it mean that you can look at the cards of your deck when playing a Secret passage?


No, you cannot. You could if you were explicitly allowed to (like in new Stash). Note, that you can count your deck anytime, but it does not mean you can look through it.

The new wording of Stash only lets you look through the cards you're about to draw - it just maintains the previous functionality.

Previously if you had to draw 5 cards and had 2 left, you would draw and look at them, then shuffle, picking where to put Stash (but not looking at the cards being shuffled). Now you shuffle and put the cards under the 2, then draw 5; so to keep Stash working the same, it lets you look at the 2 cards.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald X.
United States
flag msg tools
designer
salva wrote:
1: You have to put a card anywhere in you deck, does it mean that you can look at the cards of your deck when playing a Secret passage?

No, you cannot. You can choose to put a card three cards down, but won't know what's next to it.

salva wrote:
2: Donald X. Vaccarino said that Secret passage "it's useful for putting bad cards on the bottom of your deck (where you hope they miss a shuffle)" (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Secret_Passage).
How can cards at the bottom of a deck miss a shuffle?

"Missing a shuffle" is Dominion lingo. If you have exactly 20 cards in your deck, you draw them all over four turns, then shuffle, and draw them all again over the next four turns. You see each card twice over the eight turns. If you have 21, the card on the bottom doesn't appear in those first four turns; you only see it once over the eight turns.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.