Subject: Which medium offers better realism rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bruce ross
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mb
I asked this over at TMP and I wanted to ask the same question here.

I have a curiosity question. I'm asking this on a board game forum, so I'm guessing there will be some biased answers (I'm going to ask this on TMP too!)

To anyone who has played squad level WW2 tactical games, which do you think offers the best realism? I'm sure rules have a lot to do with this.

I have VERY little experience in either medium.

I played Conflict of Heroes and found it "gamey" I'm looking at other board games that have some more complexity, but I find myself wanting to play with mini's….6mm

I played Chain of Command. It's a nice set of rules, but the terrain making and setup are a PIA and I just do not want this in my gaming, at least not on that level.

However, I'd be willing to play a mini's game OR a board game that would lend itself to using mini's (Panzer 2nd Ed for example). There are cheap and easy ways to throw down some terrain on a small map. Part of my issue was with CoC we were playing on a larger 6'x6' board.

Love to hear what people who have tried both what their experiences are.

Thanks
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Cawley
United States
Anthem
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

First, I don't even know what TMP is. Second, your question is not transparently clear - are you asking about game systems or genres or mediums (board wargame vs computer game e.g.)?