Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: one Event card that is used during a battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hank Burkhalter
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From [10.5.2], "Then the attacker, followed by the defender, may each play one Event card that is used during a battle, before the die is rolled."

Do the Play Anytime 'Cancel the just-played card' events count for this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe so. And if I remember correctly I think some cards say that, if played, they don't count as having played a card within battle, meaning that you can still play another card in the battle.

Keep in mind I do not have the newer cards so I do not know if the wording has changed in the newer edition cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hank Burkhalter
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Matt. Thats how we played it. So if the attacker plays a card in the commit phase they will not be able to cancel any card the defender plays, and so forth. One card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how I play. I could be incorrect though. I'm sure someone will be in here soon to answer. Usually Carl himself responds pretty quickly to No Retreat questions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter B.
Germany
Oldenburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Normally each side can only play one Event Card in the Commitment Phase.

In the previous NR-version some cards had the hint that they don`t count as being played within battle.



Carl decided to write now in the latest version "Play Anytime".

This has the same meaning now... you may play a "Play Anytime"-card after having played another "normal" card in the Commitment Phase.

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1809340/possible-play-m...

2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hank Burkhalter
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Peter. I missed that earlier post of this same question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StarPit wrote:
Normally each side can only play one Event Card in the Commitment Phase.

In the previous NR-version some cards had the hint that they don`t count as being played within battle.



Carl decided to write now in the latest version "Play Anytime".

This has the same meaning now... you may play a "Play Anytime"-card after having played another "normal" card in the Commitment Phase.

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1809340/possible-play-m...



This is correct. meeple
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
suriagostrait wrote:
From [10.5.2], "Then the attacker, followed by the defender, may each play one Event card that is used during a battle, before the die is rolled."

Do the Play Anytime 'Cancel the just-played card' events count for this?


No they do not, you can play them "anytime". meeple

Don't forget rule 5.3.2:

[5.3.2] Event Precedence: When there is a conflict between Event text and the Rules, the Event text takes precedence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.