Warpgate» Forums » General

Subject: Looking for opinions from all you 4X and space-game veterans rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dominic B
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I know, I know this does probably not count as a true 4X game, so excuse the thread title.

To begin with, I am looking for quite some time for an area control/4 or 3 X/battle/strategic game set in a sci-fi space setting. I have to admit I have no big experiences in this genre but feel drawn to it. I played Twilight Imperium twice and it was amazing as it was exhausting, almost too huge. I got Eclipse recommended often, but this also seems quite intense and time-consuming.
Don't get me wrong, I love heavier and intense games, but I don't really have the time and player group to commit to them on a regular basis.

This is what interests me about this game. It seems like a streamlined version of an area control space game, which still has a lot of interesting decisions. I also like the diceless combat system. It doesn't seem as interesting (in the means of complex) as, let's say, Blood Rage when it comes to the area control aspect, but Blood Rage isn't set in space though .

Problem is I am lacking comparisons and experiences here. So I'd be interested what you others out there think. Are there similar games like this one? May this game be a little too streamlined or could this be a real alternative to the monstrous space games?

Thank you in advance!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arty N.
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
designer
Leonce wrote:

I know, I know this does probably not count as a true 4X game, so excuse the thread title.
Problem is I am lacking comparisons and experiences here. So I'd be interested what you others out there think.

You are on point that Warpgate is not a 4X game. But it's not trying to be one