Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Looking for some clarifications. Did not see consensus on the forums rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Justin Thrall
United States
Vermont
flag msg tools
I'm new to the game and was looking over the aliens and flares. I have some questions on a few specific combinations. Some of these were asked 8+ years ago here, but I did not see any sort of consensus.

1) Tripler wile flare (As a main player, after your opponent reveals an attack card of 15 or higher, you may divide that attack card’s value by 3 (rounded up) before any other effects are applied.)
How does this play out with something like Morph played by the opponent? Normally I would assume the Morph would apply first, then the flare would apply to that value. However, the flare specifically states "before any other effects are applied".

2) The good old Anti-Matter & Virus encounter.
I've seen compelling arguments for a number of ways of how an encounter between these two play out.

2a) Same as above, except add in the Virus SuperFlare.
This is also very ambiguous. I'm leaning towards the Virus' total being Card * (#VirusShips - #AllyShips), but again, a lot of other formulas also seem plausible.

I had a few more, but these 3 really stood out to me in the base game.

I apologize if these have been answered with finality in the past. The only threads I saw on these just sort of died off without a community-agreed conclusion.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack of Clubs
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes, it's before other effects, but it's after revealing an attack card, which can only happen after the morph does it's thing. So yes, the flare would then modify the morph's assumed value (if it's 15 or higher).