Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Who controls Canada and Glasgow if London is controlled by Axis? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Highlander
Poland
Gdańsk
flag msg tools
Today we had an interesting situation where first Glasgow then London were sea invaded by Axis and finally Axis destroyed all Western units there. France was not attacked and Canada was empty.

I was clear for us that Western player:
- had 0 production
- all his British units in France were still fighting and were supplied from Paris or Delhi

We assumed that Glasgow is controlled automatically by Axis when London falls - even if no Axis unit there).

But we could not find clear information about the rules of control of Canada:

"2.3 Home Territory" states that it consist of areas within national boundaries of one country (here: Great Britain). But the hint on the left box suggests that Canada is still a Colony with own capital.

"2.31 Colonies" states that Colony is not a Home Territory.

Should we assume the exception that Canada is both a Colony and Home Territory?

Key question is if Axis can automatically gain resources from Canada, if they control London? (important if they fight in parallel with Soviets).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Canada is not a Colony in 2nd edition. The idea was to allow cadre builds in Canada when both London and Glasgow were Engaged.

We failed to remove that sidebar notation to conform with the 2nd Ed map which shows Canada as Home Territory as intended. The sidebar notation is in error for 2nd Edition.

The rules provide that all Great Power Territory remains owned by that Great Power unless Enemy Occupied (i.e, it is NOT controlled from the Capital).

So Canada would remain West if London is lost.

Craig
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Highlander
Poland
Gdańsk
flag msg tools
Thank you Craig.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.