Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The 7th Continent» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to play with a special item cards "spoiler" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Danick Mailhot
msg tools
So how do you play with the items cards that you found in the wilderness with one use but a special use... it has no keyword but text box saying if you use it this way discard the card...? At the bottom of the cards it says do not reduce the item if you use it... so what happens if you combine this item with another item?

Sometimes we want to keep this card but we have no room but to place it under another one... so if we use it we reduce the top card item or not?

Is there a place to read more about those kind of cards?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Hollow
msg tools
mb
It basically means that it's an extra item that doesn't change the item stack you attach it to in any way. You don't add pips to the die because no keywords match, and you don't reduce the die when you use the one off item, because it tells you not to.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. Consider that usually, you have to reduce a pip to use the effects of an item as a whole (all effects on all the cards get a single use each). If you are only using that one special effect on the card, you get to do so without spending a pip on the main item it has been attached to.

Compare with something like Bolas. This card is also discarded if used, but you must reduce the did by a pip. So if you attach it to an item it doesn't share a keyword with, you are essentially lowering the number of times you can use the item's other abilities. The cards in question don't come with this trade-off, as they only take up room and nothing else.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.