Nate Flemons
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Section 5.1: "A Player may move Units between a Leader's Card and the Shire the Leader occupies at any time during the Movement Phase."

Is 'Movement Phase' a typo? Because the Movement Phase happens when a leaderless army moves, so should it say "at any time during Leader Movement"?

And even if it meant Leader Movement, what does this statment mean that the 3rd paragraph in 5.1 doesn't cover about a Leader may drop off and pick up Units before he moves, as he moves, or after he moves. Does it mean something different, or is it being redundant to what the 3rd paragraph is saying?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Buchanan
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
Units can be moved from a shire to a leader card at any time. Essentially there is no difference between a unit in a shire, and a unit on a leader card, as long a leader is present in the shire.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Shogren
United States
Rochester
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
It's a bit awkwardly worded, but it does mean Movement Phase and its not redundant to the 3rd paragraph.

Let's say you have a leader that did NOT move during Leader Movement. Units on that leader's card may be moved to the shire during the Movement Phase and then activated and moved as a regular army (without the leader).

Alternatively, let's say you move a leaderless army into a shire with a leader. These units may be freely moved to the leader's card at the end of their normal movement. (You might wonder why you would do this. It's likely just to keep the board cleaner.)

This rule helps avoid unnecessary turn to turn / phase to phase book keeping & nitpicking. That is, you don't have to remember to move the units from a leader card to a shire during the Leader Phase - especially for a leader that is not activated - before using them for regular moves. It also avoids moving units in the leader phase to the card and then NOT moving the leader - which might cause other players to think you're activating the leader when you aren't. It's just keeps things a bit cleaner. The key in all of this is that units may only move once on a turn.


The 3rd paragraph of leader movement covers the pick up and drop off rules (which differ from the normal army moves). So not redundant.

Hope that helps a bit.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uwe eickert
United States
Fremont
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am cleaning up some of the wording of the rules this week and will be posting v45 on BGG. There is no difference between units on and off of a Leaders Card. If units are in a shire, they are with the leader. Units on the leaders card are in the shire. So you may move units between at anytime. It should not say during that they can only be moved during the movement phase.

Gunter
Academy Games
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.