Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Sector 6» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gear lockup in Sector 6 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Kelem
United States
Los Altos Hills
California
flag msg tools
mb
It is possible for the gears to lock up in Sector 6. For example, if you have the following gears:

and then rotate A clockwise (CW), B and C rotate counterclockwise (CCW).

This results in the image shown in the second picture:


The problem now is that if you try to rotate A CW, it causes B and C to rotate CCW.

But rotating B CCW causes C to rotate CW! This causes the gears to lock up!

If this were real gears, you could not rotate them because of the opposing forces.

You can get this situation with any set of 3 adjacent gears that have at least two adjacent sides that are geared. Images 9, 10A-10C, 11, the mazes on page 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 have the potential to lock up.

You can deal with lockup in several ways:

* When lockup occurs, that part of the maze is dead. This might have dire consequences for the player(s) trapped in a locked section because it is unable to rotate.
* When lockup is about to occur, that section of the maze refuses to lock up, so you cannot rotate in the direction that would cause lockup.
* During setup, make sure that in every place that 3 tiles touch, at least one of the 3 tiles has only 0 or 1 gear sides. It is impossible for tiles with 0 or 1 side to contribute to lockup.

Steve
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Manuel Moreno Ramos
Spain
Cádiz
Cádiz
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greetings Steve,

Chain reaction is not allowed. Only the tiles connected to the first one you rotate may move.

So in the case you show, if you try to rotate A CW, it causes B and C to rotate CCW.

But rotating doesn't cause any other effect in the same or other adjacent files.

Best regards,



Jose Manuel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Kelem
United States
Los Altos Hills
California
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks for the clarification!
(They must be "gears of the future"!)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Stone
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Sorry Jose but I am still having problems understanding your solution. You say chain reactions are not allowed and yet in the rulebook in the gear system section it says that 'a single tile may cause several other tiles to rotate'. This sounds like a chain reaction to me. Steve pointed out that many of the maps included have locked gears at the start of play, and he is correct. If you look at the top map on page 9, in the centre you have three tiles connected to each other with all three touching sides being cogs. These cogs are locked and so can't rotate. So in this case is Steve's solution that this part of the maze is dead? If true then when creating ones own mazes by freely placing a tile in turn this could easily end up with a locked gear system. This happened to me on my second game where a total of seven tiles were locked up. If this causes runners to be stuck in one section of the maze then it will result in an unfair outcome. The instructions doesn't talk about locked gear systems so, could you please clarify again how to avoid or get around this problem.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Manuel Moreno Ramos
Spain
Cádiz
Cádiz
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi John,

As rules said, player may rotate one tile causing other tiles rotate. So as maximum only 7 tiles may rotate: the ones rotated by the player and up to the 6 adjacent tiles to the ones rotated by the player.

However the rotation of the 6 adjacent tiles may not cause new rotations in these same or other tiles. This is the meaning of "chain reaction" is not allowed.

Best regards,




Jose Manuel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.