Ben Johnson
United States
Novato
California
flag msg tools
badge
*only silence*
mbmbmbmbmb
Note: this is my first Session post, so I'm a little new to this. I figure this is the right place to post my impressions from a recent play, but if not please let me know.

At GenCon this past August I had an opportunity to demo a 2p game of Valletta. The only change to my knowledge is that instead of starting with one of each resource (wood, stone, brick and gold/money) we started with two.

I was aware of the game from the GenCon preview and the combo of Klemens Franz and ZMan had me very interested, but that's all I knew. I will admit, based on that pairing I was expecting something like a Rosenberg, which this is not.

Valletta is effectively a deck builder where you acquire cards by building around the town. Each building has a resource cost and has a card on it that is added to your hand when you build it.

Each turn you will draw from your deck up to a hand of five cards and play 3 of them in any order [Edited, I had mistakenly thought you only draw 3] . There is one card for generating each of the 4 resources and one that produces any one resource of your choice. There are two builder cards, a copy card (copy the effect of a previously played card) and the Valletta card. When Valletta is played, you move up the game timer and acquire a hidden resource.

We played through about 3/4 of a game. I believe it ends when one player has built 8 buildings, and we played to 6.

I came into Valletta hoping for a medium Euro strategy game. While Valletta has some interesting decisions and you can definitely make a plan for where you want to build, in my opinion what you do on any given turn is not that thinky. Draw 3, play them, try to build if/when you can.