Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Eldritch Horror: Strange Remnants» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monsters With Physical Resistance rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Commorato
United States
Staten Island
NY
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I use Asset Bonuses (the pluses) during the 1st half of the Combat Encounter with a Monster that has Physical Resistance?
Usually the Will check.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's what the rulebook for Under the Pyramid says
Quote:
Some Monsters and Epic Monsters in this expansion have
the Physical Resistance ability. When resolving a Combat
Encounter against a Monster with the Physical Resistance
ability
, an investigator cannot apply any bonus to his die
pool except from Magical possessions and Spells.
Effects that allow the investigator to reroll dice or manipulate
dice results can be used as normal.
Note that it says "Combat Encounter", not "Will Test" or "Strength Test".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Commorato
United States
Staten Island
NY
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
mccrispy wrote:
Here's what the rulebook for Under the Pyramid says
Quote:
Some Monsters and Epic Monsters in this expansion have
the Physical Resistance ability. When resolving a Combat
Encounter against a Monster with the Physical Resistance
ability
, an investigator cannot apply any bonus to his die
pool except from Magical possessions and Spells.
Effects that allow the investigator to reroll dice or manipulate
dice results can be used as normal.
Note that it says "Combat Encounter", not "Will Test" or "Strength Test".


I agree but thematically a physically resistant monster would be affected by 'hits' whereas a Will check would have nothing to do with that type of monster.

I guess I'm looking for theme but this IS Eldritch after all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thematic justifications for rules are exactly that: justifications for the rules that exist. Unfortunately, for any given thematic explanation there is often an equal and opposite explanation, I have given up on trying to use theme to explain EH (and if you read the designer's rules explanations, they almost never invoke theme in any manner.)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chillbo Camron

New York
msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmb
mercom wrote:

I agree but thematically a physically resistant monster would be affected by 'hits' whereas a Will check would have nothing to do with that type of monster.

I guess I'm looking for theme but this IS Eldritch after all!


I'm going to have to agree with you. My gaming group is having the same 'argument'.
We don't see how the first half of the test, usually the Willpower check, has anything to do with physical resistance. I know the rules state this and that you are supposed to adhere to the rule with both checks not using plus bonuses, but I don't think this is what the designers had in mind. Or it was poorly conveyed in the rules.

Now we can't rewrite the rules but we have house-ruled it where we only apply this rule to the latter half of the combat check - the actual fight itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe you go nuts as you see the bullets go straight through the creature, or the axe wound regenerates and you realise that your weapons are useless and there's no escape...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.