Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Aloof Keyword *Minor Curtain Call spoilers* rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Allan West
msg tools
Hi everyone.

Quick clarification question on the 'Aloof' keyword.

Could be considered a minor spoiler for Curtain Call.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
If an enemy is 'Aloof', can you interact with it without engaging? Obviously thinking of the Man in the Pallid Mask who is Aloof but has an investigate action. We played that you can, but thought we should check before going on


Thanks for the help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. You need to engage to *fight* an Aloof enemy, but not to Parley or perform any other actions they might provide (unless their card specifically says so of course).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Diogo Reis
Brazil
Santos
SP
flag msg tools
cferejohn wrote:
Yes. You need to engage to *fight* an Aloof enemy, but not to Parley or perform any other actions they might provide (unless their card specifically says so of course).


Hm.. that means you cannot attack an Aloof enemy without engaging first?

From the Rules Reference, Fight:

An investigator may fight any enemy at his or her location, including: an enemy he or she is engaged with, an unengaged enemy at the same location, or an enemy engaged with another investigator who is at the same location.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But under Aloof:
Quote:
Aloof
Aloof is a keyword ability. An enemy with the aloof keyword does not automatically engage investigators at its location.

* When an aloof enemy spawns, it spawns unengaged.
* An investigator may use the engage action or a card ability to engage an aloof enemy.
* An investigator cannot attack an aloof enemy while that enemy is not engaged with an investigator.

You don't necessarily have to be engaged with it yourself, but someone has to be.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.