Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Portal of Morth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a hero have at most 2, 3, 4, or 6 upgrades? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Branam
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 25:

Quote:
"A hero cannot have more than two upgrades, a level one and a level two upgrade, both from the same upgrade tree"


This sentence seems to say that a hero can only have at most 2 upgrades. They need to be a single level one and a single level two upgrade and they both have to be from the same tree. The image seems to suggest that only one tree can be upgraded but also contradicts the maximum of one single level two upgrade within the tree.



Which of the following images shows the correct way to maximize a hero?

2 maximum upgrades:

Can I upgrade only one tree?
(Maybe, this is the safest assumption)

3 maximum upgrades:

Can I upgrade both level two abilities in that single tree?
(doubtful, but the rules show this image)

4 maximum upgrades:

Can I upgrade both trees?
(Maybe, but the rules and image of the textbook are vague)

6 maximum upgrades:

Is a hero allowed to upgrade both level two abilities in both trees?
(doubtful, because this might be overpowered)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Buster Lehn
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Branam,

The correct image for the upgrades is the first one. You can only upgrade each hero up to two times, in only one branch of the upgrade tree, and you must do a level 1 upgrade and a level 2 upgrade.
The image in the rulebook was intended to show the options for the player when making a level 2 upgrade, but as you say, it isn't as clear as it should be.

Let me know if you have any other questions!

Best,

Buster Lehn
Abba Games

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Branam
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the responses to all my questions! Just to be perfectly clear, this following scenario is never possible, correct?

4 maximum upgrades:

Can I upgrade both trees?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.