Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Jump Jets for skirmish rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Randall
China
flag msg tools
When it says "place the fig up to 5 spaces does that mean you could place them in a totally different room in a space blocked off by walls that is five squares space away or do you have to follow normal movement rules (except for terrain)? Probably my idea isn't allowed but I noticed it doesn't say "gain mvmnt points", rather it says "place your fig in an empty space within 5 spaces".
At the time I was trying to get an almost dead Ranger away from Vader and just using 5 mvmt points wouldn't have helped because he can move 4 plus two at the end of the round as well... terrifying!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See Counting Spaces. You can do counting spaces through impassable terrain, but not through blocking terrain, doors, or walls.

In other words: "choose an empty space, which is within 5 spaces of the figure, then place the figure in that space".

(edit: already requires an empty space. Note that you also cannot choose a space that already has a non-companion figure, because you cannot place a figure where it cannot end movement. (Jump Jets cannot be used on a massive figure, at least for now.)

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
If the figure in question was mobile, can you then count through blocking terrain?

I've always assumed yes, as the intent of "Counting Spaces" is about finding how many movement points it would take a figure to get somewhere without penalties. The rules do specifically say not to count through blocking terrain though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stl0369 wrote:
If the figure in question was mobile, can you then count through blocking terrain?

No. Mobile (and Massive) only allows to ignore blocking terrain for movement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By the same reasoning, you don't count spaces orthogonally for Large figures either, which would be fairly restrictive, especially when you consider you need to count spaces to determine the needed Accuracy of Ranged attacks.

Another reason is to ensure that counting spaces is always reciprocal. You wouldn't want A to be further away from B than B is from A would you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
True, but it does feel a little odd to be able to move a probe droid further with movement points than the same number counted spaces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stl0369 wrote:
True, but it does feel a little odd to be able to move a probe droid further with movement points than the same number counted spaces.

That's 2-dimensional thinking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
Stl0369 wrote:
True, but it does feel a little odd to be able to move a probe droid further with movement points than the same number counted spaces.

That's 2-dimensional thinking.


That makes me think - how would a Portal gun work in IA?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.