Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Kortekaas
Canada
St. Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you could have a "perfect" faction box 3d printed, what would your requirements be? How big would you want it?

I have access to a 3d printer and I draft for a living so I can whip up a STL pretty quickly.

I'd love to be able to stack the 5 faction boxes, as well as a "tray" to hold all the bits and bobs (nodes, resources etc) followed by one to hold the system discs.

Also I'm wondering if designing it for the borg as well.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shelby Babb
United States
Springdale
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One major requirement: it can be expanded with other factions.

Borg come out this month supposedly, and then there's rumors of Tholians* and Andorians among others. So we're looking at -8- Faction boxes rather than just 5. And that's for starters.

(*the assumption is the Tholians will be their own Faction, but they could also be bundled with a collection of "lesser" races as a faction. Other games have done similar I think.)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Disgustipater
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Each box would hold the console board, fleet cards, advancement deck, trade agreements, home planet, starbases, and ships & control nodes. Maybe some dice, depending. I use 5”x9” bags to store the items above for each faction currently. They wouldn’t have to be very deep, an inch maybe?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Kortekaas
Canada
St. Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
maybe a little taller

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Harris
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Disgustipater wrote: