Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few rule questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Knauseder
Austria
Lochen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there,
In our last two plays of War of the Ring 2nd edition a few questions came up. I would be really grateful if someone could help me out:

1. Entering the Mordor Track: Does the ringbearer figure have to be in Morannon/Minas Morgul in order to enter the Mordor track in phase two? Or, can they be declared in phase two, say they are two regions away, move to Morannon/Minas Morgul and then enter the Mordor track immediately?

2. Is the Mordor track considered a region for the effect of certain cards? e.g. Orc patrol which says: Play if the Fellowship is not in a region containing a Free Peoples Settlement.
Draw a Hunt tile.
If the tile shows an Eye or is a Fellowship special tile, discard it without effect.
Otherwise, follow the rules for a successful Hunt.

3. Dreadful Spells: Can this card be played when besieging a free peoples stronghold?
The card text says: Play if a Shadow Army containing a Nazgûl is adjacent to, or is in the same region as, a Free Peoples
Army. Are the free peoples army and the shadow army in the same region if the free people are in the stronghold?

4. Can I use cards like House of the Stewards if the free peoples' army is in a stronghold under siege?
card text: Play if Boromir is in a Gondor region.
Recruit one Gondor unit (Regular or Elite) in the region with Boromir.
Then, draw two Strategy Event cards.
Is e.g. the stronghold in Minas Tirith considered to be a Minas Tirith region?

Thanks in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steva fields
United States
vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1)Yes, You can declare the fellowship in the fellowship phase, and then move the figure to the Mordor track,. Also, yes, for the next three questions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Some dude
Netherlands
Groningen
There dismay took them, for at the gate was a guard of whom no tidings had yet gone forth.
flag msg tools
Swiftly the wolf grew, until he could creep into no den, but lay huge and hungry before the feet of Morgoth. There the fire and anguish of hell entered into him, and he became filled with a devouring spirit, tormented, terrible, and strong.
badge
Then swiftly all his inwards were filled with a flame of anguish, and the Silmaril seared his accursed flesh. Howling he led before them, and the walls of the valley of the Gate echoes with the clamour of his torment.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2) The Mordor track is not a region. The Fellowship is not in any region when on the Mordor track.

3) The only way for 2 opposing armies to be in the same region is a Stronghold under siege.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
4) Yes. Event cards can muster units into a besieged stronghold.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Blumentritt
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
2) The Mordor track is not a region. The Fellowship is not in any region when on the Mordor track


True, but Orc Patrol can still be played. The Fellowship is indeed "not in a region containing a FP Settlement." Or think of it this way: There are regions that contains FP Settlement, but the Fellowship when in Mordor is not in any of them, therefore the card is playable.


Quote:
Does the ringbearer figure have to be in Morannon/Minas Morgul in order to enter the Mordor track in phase two?


Yes.

Quote:
Or, can they be declared in phase two, say they are two regions away, move to Morannon/Minas Morgul and then enter the Mordor track immediately?


No.

Note that they don't have to be hidden to enter Mordor. They enter Mordor hidden or revealed - they stay whichever they were before.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Knauseder
Austria
Lochen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, but I am still confused about the answers to the first question???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heikki Laakkonen
Finland
Jyväskylä
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sheepdog1 wrote:
Thanks, but I am still confused about the answers to the first question???


The Fellowship has to be in Minas Morgul or Morannon (either hidder or revealed) to enter Mordor. You can however declare the Fellowship there in phase two and then move them immediately to the Mordor track.

Digging more deeply into the rules (correct me if I am wrong), the Fellowship only needs to be in Minas Morgul or Morannon to enter Mordor, declaration as such is not needed. This may matter above all with LoME expansion, when one can bypass The Gates Are Closed and Balrog when entering Mordor.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Hessen wrote:
Sheepdog1 wrote:
Thanks, but I am still confused about the answers to the first question???


The Fellowship has to be in Minas Morgul or Morannon (either hidder or revealed) to enter Mordor. You can however declare the Fellowship there in phase two and then move them immediately to the Mordor track.

Digging more deeply into the rules (correct me if I am wrong), the Fellowship only needs to be in Minas Morgul or Morannon to enter Mordor, declaration as such is not needed. This may matter above all with LoME expansion, when one can bypass The Gates Are Closed and Balrog when entering Mordor.


You can only move to the Mordor track during a Fellowship phase, and the last known position of the Fellowship must be Minas Morgul or Moranon. So, if the Fellowship was revealed in either place previously, or if it was declared there either in the current or a previous Fellowship phase, you can move to the Mordor track before moving to the allocation phase.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a lot of confusing (and sometimes conflicting) information here. Here are the correct answers:

csouth154 wrote:
You can only move to the Mordor track during a Fellowship phase, and the last known position of the Fellowship must be Minas Morgul or Moranon. So, if the Fellowship was revealed in either place previously, or if it was declared there either in the current or a previous Fellowship phase, you can move to the Mordor track before moving to the allocation phase.


Statalyzer wrote:
Quote:
2) The Mordor track is not a region. The Fellowship is not in any region when on the Mordor track


True, but Orc Patrol can still be played. The Fellowship is indeed "not in a region containing a FP Settlement." Or think of it this way: There are regions that contains FP Settlement, but the Fellowship when in Mordor is not in any of them, therefore the card is playable.


Anfauglir wrote:
3) The only way for 2 opposing armies to be in the same region is a Stronghold under siege.


csouth154 wrote:
4) Yes. Event cards can muster units into a besieged stronghold.
7 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Yaure
United States
Plymouth Meeting
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Krieghund wrote:
There is a lot of confusing (and sometimes conflicting) information here. Here are the correct answers:

csouth154 wrote:
You can only move to the Mordor track during a Fellowship phase, and the last known position of the Fellowship must be Minas Morgul or Moranon. So, if the Fellowship was revealed in either place previously, or if it was declared there either in the current or a previous Fellowship phase, you can move to the Mordor track before moving to the allocation phase.


Emphasis added to focus on OP's question.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.