Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Near and Far» Forums » Rules

Subject: Skill checks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gianluca Casu
Belgium
Ixelles
Bruxelles
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Suppose I need a skill 7 check to be rolled. I roll a 6.

By rules I am allowed to add one heart to get a succes.

Fine, but am I allowed to add three hearts and get th 9+ success level too?

Secondary question. Suppose I roll a 9. Do I get the 9+ level reward or do
I get them both? Rodney suggsted the latter answer in his video.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike DiLisio
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can add the three hearts in that scenario to get the bonus.

If you roll a 9, you get everything in the 7 level reward PLUS the item listed in 9+. This is a bonus, not a replacement.

One of the decisions that I often have to make in this game is whether to spend hearts to get the bonus, or save them for future turns. Sometimes I have to choose between a bonus, or being able to place a camp.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Steinbrenner
United States
Pasco
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes and yes.

You can spend any number of hearts to add to rolls.

Great success gives both sets of rewards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
Yes. See Spending hearts in quest.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gianluca Casu
Belgium
Ixelles
Bruxelles
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all, then a small detail if you please.

This means that in fact when I state the quest, I have to state that there is a bonus as well?

“You need skill 7, but there is a bonus at 9”
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kim Williams
United Kingdom
St Just
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
capricorn_tm wrote:
Thank you all, then a small detail if you please.

This means that in fact when I state the quest, I have to state that there is a bonus as well?

“You need skill 7, but there is a bonus at 9”


There is always a bonus for getting at least2 more than the required amount, so once people have been told that you don't need to mention it every time!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brenna Asplund
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
capricorn_tm wrote:
Thank you all, then a small detail if you please.

This means that in fact when I state the quest, I have to state that there is a bonus as well?

“You need skill 7, but there is a bonus at 9”


The bonus is always 2 more than the base skill or combat required.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
And just to be sure, you know you don't read the reward texts until AFTER they succeed, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.