Joe Schlobotnik
msg tools
mbmb
Hello. With all the expansions - which my wife and I have - there are now a number of ways you can end up with multiple masterminds. One thing I was wondering was if you kill off the original mastermind, but have others still kicking around, do the scheme twists still do anything? After all, from the story point of view, the scheme is the scheme being orchestrated by the original mastermind, so shouldn’t the scheme die with him? Or do we assume the other ascended masterminds pick up the mantle and the scheme twists keep applying?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Green
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greensabre27 wrote:
Or do we assume the other ascended masterminds pick up the mantle and the scheme twists keep applying?


This one.

You don't get off that easy I'm afraid!
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Tricoche
United States
Bronx
NY
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought once the mastermind was gone it was game over and you win?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Worley
United States
Rosemount
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BIgLatinDude wrote:
I thought once the mastermind was gone it was game over and you win?


Once all the Masterminds are gone it is game over and you win.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Tricoche
United States
Bronx
NY
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry I'm confused. You pick one mastermind and its four cards. Are you saying once all of that masterminds cards are gone you win or has the game changed somehow where if you get of the mastermi g (and all its cards) you select a new one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Impeachment time
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Later expansions have villains that turn in to masterminds if they escape. Also there is at least one scheme that adds a second mastermind.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin H

Maine
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mundane wrote:
Later expansions have villains that turn in to masterminds if they escape. Also there is at least one scheme that adds a second mastermind.


Here's an example from Secret Wars Vol. 1

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Worley
United States
Rosemount
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's also the Secret Wars scheme that I think eventually adds 4 additional Masterminds, each with only one random Tactic.

And the God Emperor of Battleworld scheme has a Twist ascend to become a new Mastermind.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Tricoche
United States
Bronx
NY
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahh, I thought it was something like a rule or something I hadn't seen before.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Hostetler
United States
Warminster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For Zombie Mr Sinister, do you treat that specific card as a Mastermind or do you actually get out the Mr. Sinister Mastermind set?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David A
United States
Yorktown
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any Villain that ascends to become a Mastermind uses that actual card with no Tactics.

**Edit to add:
Villains that ascend are:
Zombie Loki [Deadlands Villain Group]
Zombie Sinister [Deadlands Villain Group]
Zombie Thanos [Deadlands Villain Group]
Apocalyptic Magneto [Domain of Apocalypse Villain Group]
Wasteland Kingpin [Wasteland Villain Group]
Deadpool [Deadpool's Secret Secret Wars Villain Group]
Angela [Guardians of Nowhere Villain Group]
Warrior Woman [Utopolis Villain Group]
'92 Professor X [X-Men '92 Villain Group]
Mastermind (Jason Wyngarde) [Hellfire Club Villain Group]
Lady Mastermind [Sisterhood of Mutants Villain Group]

and that's not including the Villains that ascend thanks to a handful of different Schemes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls