Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sending a treasure rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
When using cards like Taxis Family Couriers, Sultana Safiye and Patron of Arts & Sciences, can you send a treasure? I think you can, but would like confirmation (or just some opinions).

The cards all state to send "a card", but in the rules that is said to mean either. Though that is when talking about a mixed hand and being forced to discard, so maybe it doesn't apply here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Davidson
United States
Orland Park
IL
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Opinion -

The only time that treasure is considered a card is the afore-mentioned hand that has both cards & treasures and is forced to discard something.
This is there to avoid a 'double-loss' being forced; ie, if the rule wasn't there, a hand with 1card and 1treasure would ALWAYS have the card targeted, thereby making the treasure an effective loss also; making that play over powered.

In the case of the card-play mentioned above; if treasures were allowed, that would beg the case then of trading a treasure to someone that had NO cards....said treasure would be unplayable and lost...which is not the point of the event...something should be gained that is usable...might not be worth much, but at least usable.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Right - good point about just sending someone a treasure they had no chance to use.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Nestor
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
To clarify a bit further the concept. The rules only state that a treasure is considered a card when a RANDOM discard is required. From which pool (cards or treasures) the random discard originates depends on the relative number of cards/treasures in the player hand.

For example, when executing the Sir Thomas Stafford event, the victim player can be forced to discard a SPECIFIC card (or treasure) even when there are fewer cards than treasures in the player's hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.