Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Hammer of the Scots» Forums » General

Subject: Nobles Switching Sides--is this right? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Douglas Kaufman
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
Just wanted to make sure we're doing the combats right.

In a large combat involving a few nobles on each side, we're often in the position of using the nobles to take the first two hits generated by the enemy. They end up in his reserve. The rest of that round is fought out, then we begin a new combat round and the nobles enter play on their new side...where they absorb a couple of hits and go to the opponent's reserve. This goes back and forth for three rounds.

Regardless of whether this is proper strategy, is it correct according to the rules?

Doug
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Copple
United States
Northfield
Vermont
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Nobles Switching Sides--is this right?
Big Huge Doug (#29933),

Are you applying all your hits to one unit in a multiple unit group? Or are these single units being attacked and defeated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Stimson
United States
Menomonee Falls
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Nobles Switching Sides--is this right?
Big Huge Doug (#29933),

I don't think you are playing this correctly, but you could be. In order for this to be possible, every block of your "large combat" group must have exactly ONE CV.

Hit allocation is the defenders choice, but MUST be applied to the highest CV blocks FIRST. Since Nobels switch sides and return as one CV units, they cannot "take hits" until every single other block has a CV of one. Which is of course not all that likely.

Also the ONE CV noble cannot "absorb a couple of hits and go to the opponent's reserve" On the first hit the switch, the second hit goes to another block.

Doesn't seem like you got this quite right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.