Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Guardians: Explore» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to classify monster permanents. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brandon Wilson
United States
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you defeat a monster that has a permanent bonus, how do we classify this card? Does it count as a "card in play" to discard to a spider's overrun? Does it count as a "non-item card in play" for the World Spirit?

As the rules read currently, because the monster card says to "put it in to play," I would answer yes to both of these questions. However, thematically I was thinking of these bonuses as being "loot" that you pick up from the defeated monsters, and therefore probably should be considered items...

Really just wanted to hear the designer's intent on this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Stiles
United States
Brandon
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
RAW: they are persistent bonuses in play from monsters

I'm not sure the designer's intent, but I'd say per RAW the answer:

Quote:
Does it count as a "card in play" to discard to a spider's overrun?


No. You can't not "discard" monster cards, they can never go into your deck.

Quote:
Does it count as a "non-item card in play" for the World Spirit?


While I feel the intent maybe no, RAW I'd have to say "yes".

They are definitely not items (no Item keyword or grey border).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Wilson
United States
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was assuming that they would be "discarded" to your trophy pile, but you bring up a good point. I checked the book and couldn't find a hard definition of "discard," however, so this is a little ambiguous. We would need a better clarification of the term in the context of this game
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.