Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Misunderstood the fight mechanic for weapons rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim M
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
My cousin and I have just finished a playthrough of the first core game (plus curse of the Rougaru). I misunderstood the tap action on weapon cards to mean that you spent an action to ready the weapon, then Another action to fight.

So you would only get to use the gun once in 3 actions. Sheesh, made it so awkward for ourselves lol.

SO, you can use the gun 3 times as per your 3 actions, correct? I can't wait to make a new playthrough and fight properly. We now have the Dunwich Legacy as well. New characters and new campaign
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm trying to remember any gun that exhausts when fired. Nope. You just expend ammo.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy Crawford - Greybeard
United States
Amarillo
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thats right! Feel free to blow things away (not that it's going to save you from your fate :-p)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only "ready" Action like that is Play Asset - you do have to spend one Action taking the gun out of your hand of cards and putting it on the table in a Hand Slot. Once that's done, fire away!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right. A straight arrow in front of an ability means "As an action, you can do this". Any bold words, like Fight., mean to treat your action as that kind of action when applying other effects, such as Attacks of Opportunity.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed, you only exhaust Assets when used if they actually tell you to exhaust them. Fast actions and reactions will usually do this, but full action cards sometimes do and sometimes don't.

Note also that exhausted cards still have all their text! The only thing being exhausted means is that they can no longer exhaust. Anything they provide that doesn't require them to exhaust can still be used.

So, for example, Ashcan Pete has made friends with Pete Sylvester and is holding a .45. If he gets Wracked by Nightmares, both Pete Sylvester and the .45 are exhausted and unable to refresh until he gets rid of the Nightmares. However, neither of these assets have any changes to their use by being exhausted! He can still get Pete's stat boosts, still recover Pete's sanity, and still fire the gun, despite this. Nightmares is a major problem for Pete mainly because both of Duke's abilities require Duke to exhaust in order to use them.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Tom Casual of Orange Nebula
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LeonardQuirm wrote:
Indeed, you only exhaust Assets when used if they actually tell you to exhaust them. Fast actions and reactions will usually do this, but full action cards sometimes do and sometimes don't.

Note also that exhausted cards still have all their text! The only thing being exhausted means is that they can no longer exhaust. Anything they provide that doesn't require them to exhaust can still be used.

So, for example, Ashcan Pete has made friends with Pete Sylvester and is holding a .45. If he gets Wracked by Nightmares, both Pete Sylvester and the .45 are exhausted and unable to refresh until he gets rid of the Nightmares. However, neither of these assets have any changes to their use by being exhausted! He can still get Pete's stat boosts, still recover Pete's sanity, and still fire the gun, despite this. Nightmares is a major problem for Pete mainly because both of Duke's abilities require Duke to exhaust in order to use them.


Whoa. Someone second this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Exhaust/Tap is rare for Player cards and only matters when it says it does (like Pete & Duke).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall
United States
Dalton
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sounds like another case of MtG-itis. You see that curled arrow and immediately think it means "Tap".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Riley
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Nos operamur, te ludere
badge
"Life is more fun if you play games." - Roald Dahl
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CasualToast wrote:
LeonardQuirm wrote:
Indeed, you only exhaust Assets when used if they actually tell you to exhaust them. Fast actions and reactions will usually do this, but full action cards sometimes do and sometimes don't.

Note also that exhausted cards still have all their text! The only thing being exhausted means is that they can no longer exhaust. Anything they provide that doesn't require them to exhaust can still be used.

So, for example, Ashcan Pete has made friends with Pete Sylvester and is holding a .45. If he gets Wracked by Nightmares, both Pete Sylvester and the .45 are exhausted and unable to refresh until he gets rid of the Nightmares. However, neither of these assets have any changes to their use by being exhausted! He can still get Pete's stat boosts, still recover Pete's sanity, and still fire the gun, despite this. Nightmares is a major problem for Pete mainly because both of Duke's abilities require Duke to exhaust in order to use them.


Whoa. Someone second this?


Seconded. Exhaust or not only affects cards that need to use that. For example, to use the free triggered ability on Beat Cop, it says:

"~~ Exhaust Beat Cop and deal 1 damage to it: Deal 1 damage to an enemy at your location."

This means that to use the free triggered ability, you must pay the cost "exhaust beat cop and deal 1 damage to it" If you are unable to pay any part of that cost, you can't use the ability. So if it's already exhausted you can't exhaust it.

Assets that don't say anything about being exhausted aren't exhausted. As long as you can pay the cost, you can be the boss.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
ExhaustedTapped cards being de-facto "blank" isn't even a thing even in Magic anymore for a long time now, is it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim M
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb

Thanks for the clarification guys, I've taken notes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wombat929 wrote:
For example, to use the free triggered ability on Beat Cop, it says:

"~~ Exhaust Beat Cop and deal 1 damage to it: Deal 1 damage to an enemy at your location."

This means that to use the free triggered ability, you must pay the cost "exhaust beat cop and deal 1 damage to it" If you are unable to pay any part of that cost, you can't use the ability. So if it's already exhausted you can't exhaust it.


Unusually this actually means that Beat Cop (2) isn't strictly better than the un-upgraded version. You can still use the free triggered ability on Beat Cop (0) even if it's exhausted (since the cost is just to discard Beat Cop (0)), but you can't use the ability on Beat Cop (2) as stated.

Of course, at the moment I think the only card that causes assets to exhaust (except for assets exhausting themselves) is Wracked by Nightmares, and Ashcan Pete can't take Beat Cop (2) anyway. But in the future this might be a relevant observation!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Webb
United States
Western Mitten
flag msg tools
designer
badge
GET A SILK BAG FROM THE GRAVEYARD DUCK TO LIVE LONGER.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DreadArkive wrote:
Sounds like another case of MtG-itis. You see that curled arrow and immediately think it means "Tap".


Yeah, the more accurate reading of the arrow symbol would be like a "Spend 1 Action: ......" in Magic-ese. Exhaustion would effect the card only if part of the cost of using one of its abilities explicitly involves exhausting it as a cost. If the card is already exhausted, then you can't exhaust as part of the cost so it's not an available option.

For a made up example, if there was a card that read:

"---> and exhaust this: Deal 2 damage to a monster at your location"

and

"---> Fight, +1 damage"

then you could only use the first ability if the card was not exhausted, but you could still use the second even if it was.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Tom Casual of Orange Nebula
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The community around this game is awesome. Everyone is so dedicated and good at providing clear and detailed responses to questions.

You all are the best.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.