Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Roll for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Contact Specialist tile question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charles-henry Courtois
United Kingdom
London
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Hi All
I apologise if this is answered somewhere else, I did not see it.
When someone has the "Contact specialist" tile that allows for the sacrifice of a red die, does the die need to be on the world for it to be used discarded, or can it be on the strip or in the citizenry?
Basically, can any red die be used?
I hope this is clear, thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krawhitham B
New Zealand
Napier
Hawkes Bay
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It can be from anywhere, but if it is on the world then it will not count as part of the construction cost.

There is a section of the rules that covers the fiddly tiles.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Azraelle wrote:
When someone has the "Contact specialist" tile that allows for the sacrifice of a red die, does the die need to be on the world for it to be used discarded, or can it be on the strip or in the citizenry?
Basically, can any red die be used?

From the Ambition rules, page 4, Fine Points, Contact Specialist: "The Military die removed may be from anywhere in your empire. If it is removed from the world you are completing, it does not count as a settler towards completing that world."

Also see the base game rules, page 11, Fine Points, Immediate Effects, for further details on removing dice.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles-henry Courtois
United Kingdom
London
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Excellent, thank you both!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Hengst II
United States
Falls Church
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Sweep the Leg!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
Azraelle wrote:
When someone has the "Contact specialist" tile that allows for the sacrifice of a red die, does the die need to be on the world for it to be used discarded, or can it be on the strip or in the citizenry?
Basically, can any red die be used?

From the Ambition rules, page 4, Fine Points, Contact Specialist: "The Military die removed may be from anywhere in your empire. If it is removed from the world you are completing, it does not count as a settler towards completing that world."

Also see the base game rules, page 11, Fine Points, Immediate Effects, for further details on removing dice.


Wait, in this context remove the red die for 3 means removing the die completely from the game? Wow I did that one wrong last night, although I still lost so I don't feel as bad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.