Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Kingdom Death: Monster» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why bother with Doomed? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris
United States
Simi Valley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry this is a question from a neophyte player - why do traps included "Doomed" keyword? Since the rules regarding the spending of survial specifically preclue you from spending survival during an attack isn't the entire concept of being doomed moot?

Or am I completely misunderstanding the rules?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C M
msg tools
mbmb
Because as soon as the trap gets triggered the attack is immediately over.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PB
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmb
Normally a survivor can use a survival action like Dodge, Dash or Surge in response to Monster Attack and Reaction actions. However if a survivor is Doomed, they cannot use ANY Survival actions while the Doomed status is in effect. In the case of a Trap! the survivor is Doomed (can't use any survival) until the Monster completes all of the stated actions on the Trap! card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caleb Kester
United States
Ankeny
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cormor321 wrote:
Because as soon as the trap gets triggered the attack is immediately over.


Want to highlight this as the reason much more than a thumbs up.

Quote:
Normally a survivor can use a survival action like Dodge, Dash or Surge in response to Monster Attack and Reaction actions.


Sadly this isn't true. The attacker can't spend any survivor actions.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Simi Valley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I see -

To Paul - I don't think a character may ever spend survival in response to a monster reaction during their attack.

BUT - Since a trap "Cancels all attacks" then Doomed makes sense. Otherwise the character could use survival to dodge or use other survival actions.



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Trewartha
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmb
I recall Adam talking about it somewhere... In that it is mostly redundant at the moment, but there could be different traps later on where it makes sense to have and it also just sounds like a cool rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riff Conner
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, I remember something similar, where the idea was floated of other survivors besides the attacker also being doomed in certain circumstances.

It's a bit like, right now the basic hunt cards are useless because they're all* just "Hunt Table Roll", which you do anyway on a blank space. But maybe someday there'll be more variety for them, so it's future-proofing. (*Tree excepted)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PB
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmb
Quote:
Quote:
Normally a survivor can use a survival action like Dodge, Dash or Surge in response to Monster Attack and Reaction actions.


Sadly this isn't true. The attacker can't spend any survivor actions.


Yeah, I think I could have worded that better - If a survivor is attacking they can't use survival in reaction to a Monster's attack/reactions, however I am pretty sure any non attacking survivor CAN unless of course it is a Trap!(?). But obviously the OP is referencing this in regards to the attacking survivor so moot point I guess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fen Batten
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Stop Poking!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
riffraff wrote:
It's a bit like, right now the basic hunt cards are useless because they're all* just "Hunt Table Roll", which you do anyway on a blank space. But maybe someday there'll be more variety for them, so it's future-proofing. (*Tree excepted)

This has already happened with the Fade and Percival promos.

To clarify and collect other things here.

1. Doomed is because the attack has ended.
2. Attacking survivors cannot make survival actions during attacks. If the attack has ended then they could make survival actions if they were not Doomed. As noted right now, this is a moot situation, but it can change.
3. Non-attacking survivors can make survival actions during an attack, but only on the points where they are allowed.
‣ When a wound has been rolled, but before the reaction happens. There MUST be a reaction on the HL to do this.
‣ When a critical wound is rolled, after the effects of the critical hit are applied.

The HL card is held outside of the deck and discard pile while any non-attacking survivor survival actions are completed.

Also you want to remember the following also triggers opportunities:
‣ When the Monster is Knocked down
3 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Simi Valley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fenpaints wrote:
[q="riffraff"]

Also you want to remember the following also triggers opportunities:
‣ When the Monster is Knocked down


Great callout that Survivors may spend survival on monster knockdown! I missed that one in the book.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eugene Shuvaev
Russia
St.Petersburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've got so used to the traps giving "Doomed", that lost a WP5 bow specialist to The Hand's trap.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Simi Valley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aidden wrote:
I've got so used to the traps giving "Doomed", that lost a WP5 bow specialist to The Hand's trap.


I've not read ahead to the Hand's AI deck - does his trap not include "Doomed"?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eugene Shuvaev
Russia
St.Petersburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cschrad1 wrote:
does his trap not include "Doomed"?

Yep, it does not. But it is still brutal nevertheless.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessio Massuoli
Italy
Terni
Umbria
flag msg tools
Baby don't hurt me
badge
Sleepy Sloth
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anyway, there are also other small differences.
Always remember that "spending survival" is not the same as "performing survival actions".

A survivor with Red Fist using one Strength Token to Dash is performing a survival action, but is not spending survival (so, it could be done if being Doomed and not the attacker).

A survivor with a Steel Shield which "blocks" (not the block keyword, so, just something like that) with one survival, is spending survival, but not performing a survival action. So an attacker suffering a reaction could use Steel Shield freely.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.