Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Bialecki
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
badge
Microbadge: Are We Not Men?Microbadge: We are DEVO!Microbadge: We Must Repeat!Microbadge: D-E-V-O!Microbadge: Science Patrol fan
An introduction:
Before I start the review, I must disclose a few things about myself. I have a PhD in developmental genetics and have been a biology professor for the past decade teaching cell biology, biochemistry, molecular biology and genetics. In addition, I am an avid Euro-gamer playing this style of game since 1997. My wife is also a biology professor and hardcore Eurogamer. My point is, there are very few people in this world that are more predisposed to liking Cytosis than me.

I have played this game once so far. It was a three player-game with two other biology-savvy players using the Virus Expansion. The game lasted about 90 minutes not including setup and rules.

The Components:
The components are solid. You won’t be disappointed. The artwork is crisp and clear. It doesn’t try to be too detailed so that the worker placement spaces are readily visible. The cards are standard MtG size and the resources for the basic game are wooden cubes. However, I have the deluxe version which comes with “realistic” resources. These are fantastic and add to the theme, but they are not without problems. The first is that there is writing on them, but only on one side - yes, a first world problem. The other problem is that they are significantly bigger than the cubes. Trying to stack a bunch of deluxe resources on the relatively small transport vesicles (round cardboard disks) is a bit clunky.

The Rules: