Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Clans of Caledonia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fishermen in settlement scoring rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Clegg
United States
Escondido
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are other threads on this topic but none yet answer the specific question of whether a fisherman joins two otherwise distinct settlements. How many settlements does Clan MacDonald (white) have in the picture below? To my eyes it is obviously two, but the other three players at the table argued it was three, saying the fisherman only belonged to one of the settlements it touched. Which is correct?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Freeman
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
Hi friend! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
White has 2 settlements. The fisherman is adjacent to each of the pieces next to it, so they all form 1 settlement.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kolby Reddish
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thugbert wrote:
White has 2 settlements. The fisherman is adjacent to each of the pieces next to it, so they all form 1 settlement.


Agreed. That's the downside of fishermen. White could have also rowed it out to the loch to the bottom and with shipping at that level would then have four settlements I believe. (provided there was nothing else connected to that loch.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Stewart
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's two by my reading. From the rules:

Quote:
Land spaces adjacent to Fishermen are considered to be neighbouring and thus accessible in the Expand action even without any Shipping reach. The Neighbourhood bonus can be taken advantage of when deploying a Fisherman as well, but not when rowing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Rice
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed, that's part of the importance of rowing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Clegg
United States
Escondido
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastien Maire
France
St Jean de Moirans
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
About fishermen, we can make one row once per turn or once per round?
It is written per turn but it seems a bit overpowered no? You could cross the map easily in one round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juma Al-JouJou
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
1 fischerman once per turn. Not all of them once per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastien Maire
France
St Jean de Moirans
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. But then you can still cross the map easily.
First round, turn 1 : you make your fisherman row
First round, turn 2 : same
etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juma Al-JouJou
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes that's their main benefit
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timmi T.
Germany
Brandenburg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kakawette wrote:
Ok. But then you can still cross the map easily.
First round, turn 1 : you make your fisherman row
First round, turn 2 : same
etc.

Yes, so what.
It's not necessarily great across the map

Sure you may be claiming cheaper and remoter hexes before everyone else, but in the end, it is just another special ability...

(Personally I found it strongest in a two player game against Clan Robertson (= bonus on river delta) but still far from being OP
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.