Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

No Trumpets No Drums» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions regarding a variety of topics Inversions/H&M/PP rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
We are learning this game.
I was looking for clarification on the Inversion rule as it relates to Ambush.

IF a VC elects not to ambush does the US unit simply continue movement? We assumed yes.


Units otherwise are only flipped to visible side at end of their reinforcement phase?

It seems that the US reinforcements come to CORP HQ's which are actually cities, not HQ units or some such. Correct?

Also if that is the case a simple blue ring around those cities or on map notation would have be a nice addition.

US air goes in unimpeded if their is no SAM unit? There is no AA otherwise?

Interesting so far.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Lawson
United States
Rutland
Vermont
flag msg tools
Boston Redsox
badge
New England Patriots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the Communist reaction phase inverted units adjacent to Allied units either move away or flip.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
suPUR DUEper
United States
Villa Hills
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hipshot wrote:
We are learning this game.
I was looking for clarification on the Inversion rule as it relates to Ambush.

IF a VC elects not to ambush does the US unit simply continue movement? We assumed yes. Yes unless the VC is stacked with a face up ground combat unit of 3 or 4 morale. (which can be a good tactic for the communists)

Units otherwise are only flipped to visible side at end of their reinforcement phase? No, they can be flipped face up in movement (8.5.2.)or if an Allied unit is adjacent to them at the beginning of combat (19.1.2). They can also be flipped in the Communist Ops phase (6.2)

It seems that the US reinforcements come to CORP HQ's which are actually cities, not HQ units or some such. Correct? Correct- one city per corps area. Kind of a nuisance especially in IV Corps if the VC are ambushing the road.

Also if that is the case a simple blue ring around those cities or on map notation would have be a nice addition. True but after two turns you remember where they are (especially since DaNang and Saigon are well known.)

US air goes in unimpeded if their is no SAM unit? There is no AA otherwise? Nope. NVA Divisions, Armor, and Arty also like to shoot stuff at planes. (12.1.1)

Interesting so far.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
TedW wrote:
hipshot wrote:
We are learning this game.
I was looking for clarification on the Inversion rule as it relates to Ambush.

IF a VC elects not to ambush does the US unit simply continue movement? We assumed yes. Yes unless the VC is stacked with a face up ground combat unit of 3 or 4 morale. (which can be a good tactic for the communists)

Units otherwise are only flipped to visible side at end of their reinforcement phase? No, they can be flipped face up in movement (8.5.2.)or if an Allied unit is adjacent to them at the beginning of combat (19.1.2). They can also be flipped in the Communist Ops phase (6.2)

It seems that the US reinforcements come to CORP HQ's which are actually cities, not HQ units or some such. Correct? Correct- one city per corps area. Kind of a nuisance especially in IV Corps if the VC are ambushing the road.

Also if that is the case a simple blue ring around those cities or on map notation would have be a nice addition. True but after two turns you remember where they are (especially since DaNang and Saigon are well known.)

US air goes in unimpeded if their is no SAM unit? There is no AA otherwise? Nope. NVA Divisions, Armor, and Arty also like to shoot stuff at planes. (12.1.1)

Interesting so far.


12.1.1 !! Thanks this was a lowly cadre unit. Appreciate the precise answers.
Best
Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.