For the friendly variant, the rules state that if your ship is upgraded, selecting a die with one movement pip allows you to move 2 or 3 spaces (depending on how fully upgraded you are)...does this also apply to dice with one movement pip and the attack/upgrade icon? It's technically only one movement pip, but we weren't 100% sure if that was the intent in the rule, or if only the faces with a single icon were eligible for the bonus moves.
Additionally, if it is a legit move to take a movement pip/upgrade die and apply bonus movement, which occurs first - the movement or the upgrade? That could make a difference on the number of bonus spaces.
Yes - upgrade applies to movement pip on attack die
Upgrade second after moving. The upgrade applies on future dice.