Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: General Initiative Impulse rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Brophy
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 6.1.2 sets out the general rule that once a unit has opened fire on a card, it will continue to do so until ordered otherwise. Once the target card becomes empty however, I assume that a unit can order itself to cease fire using a General Initiative Command?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gianluca Spessato
msg tools
mb
Yes, but every initiative command applies only to a unit. So, if you have a full platoon firing, obviously this not works for a complete cease fire.
Further, a cease fire order works even if the target card isn't empty, but in this case could be an automatic shift fire, if there is another card with an enemy unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Brophy
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hieronymus62 wrote:
Yes, but every initiative command applies only to a unit. So, if you have a full platoon firing, obviously this not works for a complete cease fire.
Further, a cease fire order works even if the target card isn't empty, but in this case could be an automatic shift fire, if there is another card with an enemy unit.


In this case I had an HMG on its own, out of communication, blazing away at an empty card and wasting ammo. Thanks for the confirmation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
forlorn hope wrote:
hieronymus62 wrote:
Yes, but every initiative command applies only to a unit. So, if you have a full platoon firing, obviously this not works for a complete cease fire.
Further, a cease fire order works even if the target card isn't empty, but in this case could be an automatic shift fire, if there is another card with an enemy unit.


In this case I had an HMG on its own, out of communication, blazing away at an empty card and wasting ammo. Thanks for the confirmation.


Two command exceptions

You do not need an HQ or Staff unit to issue these Commands. Being in communication is not required. Expend the commands on any units in play.

Originator : NA
Target : All occupants of the card whether in communication with the originator or not.

Which means any unit can order a cease fire for all units on its card.

Theme wise a soldier (asst squad leader) has realised that the threat is no longer there.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.