Eldritch Horror» Forums » General

Subject: Have I done the right thing? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thom Glick
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
I just ordered Signs of Carcosa and Forsaken Lore. How significantly do these improve the game and re-playability?

I'm fairly new to these more complex board games. I've played chess all my life and family standards (Life, Monopoly, Scrabble, etc). Last year I took a chance and got my girlfriend the "Mystery! Motive for Murder." We really enjoyed it but were curious for something more immersive and as horror fans something more horror-ific. So we borrowed Eldritch Horror from a friend and have played through it a handful of times.

We love the game, but already after 6-7 plays we're memorizing cards. Still I pulled the trigger and ordered our own copy of the base game, plus Signs of Carcosa (I'm a huge King in Yellow short stories fan) and Forsaken Lore (I see this expansion come up a lot as a must-have).

So... How am I doing?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Brown
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
If you love the game - you are doing the right thing.

This is my favorite game, and adding the content from the expansions enriches the experience by adding the new encounters, if nothing else.

While some have complained about the bloated nature of the game with the expansion boards, I feel that FF has done a great job with managing the boards - only one expansion board is in play at a given time.

I look forward to each expansion that is created.

Very much enjoy ALL the variability the game has to offer - more! more! more!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
“It's all in the mind.” ― George Harrison
badge
Devoted Follower of the Most Holy Church of the Evil Bob. Possessed and down the road to become chaotic, evil & naughty. All hail the Evil Bob and his Stargate.
mbmbmbmbmb
You might even want to add more of those expansions! meeple
 Thumb up
 tip