Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David "Davy" Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm still learning mahjong (focusing on Zung Jung for now) and I have a question about player order. Why is the player to the right of East, South? If I look at the playing area as a map, I would have guessed that the player to the right of East would be North.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you look at the playing area as a map, then yes, the directions are wrong. But if you look at it as a map of the sky? Then the directions are correct.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Petyr E
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly - it's the sky "upside down", so to say. And it is true for all mahjong variants.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David "Davy" Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Still having trouble wrapping my head around that, but at least I know it's not a mistake as I thought at first. Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Draw a compass rose on a paper with a strong enough marker so that you can see it from both sides of the paper. Look at it from above, so you see the face up side. North is up, east is right, south is down and west is left.

Now keep the paper in the same orientation, but move it above you, so that you look at the face down side. If you position yourself so that north is still up, you'll find that west is on the right side and east is on the left side.

The directions haven't changed, but your point of view has.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yao-ban Chan
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb