Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Overlord XP rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MICHAEL MCGUIRE
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First Blood and other quests states, “Win or lose, each player...” does that include the Overlord? So the Overlord would receive XP as well? Or does the Overlord only receive XP when he/she wins?
Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that includes the Overlord.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Each player" includes the overlord. Typically the evil mastermind gets 1 experience at the end of each non-side quest, and an additional 1 experience if the bad guys win.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sarcasmorator wrote:
Yes, that includes the Overlord.


Yep. It is worth noting that in Descent, "player" does not necessarily mean "human." Every hero in the party is a player, and the OL is a player.

So:
in a 4 hero game, there are 5 players
in a 3 hero game, there are 4 players
in a 2 hero game, there are 3 players

This has absolutely nothing to do with how many humans are playing the game- for example you might have a single person controlling 2 heroes, but that still counts as 2 players.

In short, "each player receives" means "the overlord and each hero receives..."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.