Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Van Dam
United States
Anderson
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I discovered this game thanks to Sam Healey of the Dice Tower and his review of Religiously Themed Games. (link below)

(Note I had to substantially update my review after some of the other scenarios)

I like to get games with themes that connect to other interests I have. Fresco, because I like to paint, Um Reifenbreite, because I love cycling and Triathlon (I haven't found a good Triathlon game yet), and Commissioned because of the Religious and Historical theme, I am a Methodist Pastor in the process of being commissioned (a step in our ordination process), so this game immediately sparked my interest. With few good games with a religious themes I has hesitant but hopeful for this game.

Components

Overall the quality of the game is quite good, everything from the box to the bits shows no signs of corners being cut.

- The Box, it is a good standard size, it is an appropriate size for the contents as well. The Art on the box has been criticized but I find it charming.
- The Board, is double sided, and it is clear that effort went into the art, modeled after a Roman map of the region is is thematically rich. For me the art doesn't grab me. It doesn't cause you to pause and investigate if you see someone playing it.
- The bits, the church members are white wooden cubes, the Apostles are colored wooden pawns, and there are wooden missionary meeples. All are of good quality and are functional. I like the missionary meeples and am hopeful in any expansion Apostle Meeples may be made available.
- The cardboard (all of it) is of a nice thickness. The player boards are thicker than I would have expected (which is quite nice), the chits are nice and of manageable size.