Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Peak Oil» Forums » Rules

Subject: Public Scrutiny Card clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Smolen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a card that reads “You may not spend Security chips and take a Shipping action on the same turn.”

If someone spends a security token as the first thing they do. Then continues taking their shipping action. They have a to draw from the bag because of a tie. They draw a yellow barrel and have to flip their PR card which reads as above.

Question is whether the PR applies immediately or in subsequent turns?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Gohrbandt
Germany
Saarbrücken
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
In my opinion, in the situation you’re describing, the SecChip has already been spent, and the shipping action has already been taken. The PR Crisis can’t retroactively abort an action which is already being taken (if you hadn’t taken that action, you wouldn’t have gotten the PR Crisis - infinite logic loop). So, in principle and in general, any PR Crisis takes effect immediately, but none can effect you retroactively.

Does that make sense?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Janik-Jones
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Up Front fan, Cats were once worshipped as gods and they haven't forgotten this, Combat Commander series fan, The Raven King (game publisher) ... that's me!, Fields of Fire fan
badge
Slywester Janik, awarded the Krzyż Walecznych (Polish Cross of Valour), August 1944
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tobias, that seems to make sense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge Rodriguez Samaniego
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TobiasG wrote:
In my opinion, in the situation you’re describing, the SecChip has already been spent, and the shipping action has already been taken. The PR Crisis can’t retroactively abort an action which is already being taken (if you hadn’t taken that action, you wouldn’t have gotten the PR Crisis - infinite logic loop). So, in principle and in general, any PR Crisis takes effect immediately, but none can effect you retroactively.

Does that make sense?


Exactly
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.