Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Traveling to the active location rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matej Stiplovšek
msg tools
Hello all. New player here. I have a question. When you travel to a location, you remove it from the staging area and it becomes an active location. Do you "travel" to an "active" location the next round?
I'm asking because my location has a TRAVEL keyword (to stand one character). Does that keyword only trigger once(when you move it from staging area to active location) or does that effect trigger every round during travel phase? So is active location just there or do you "travel" to active location each round during the travel phase if you don't manage to explore it during the quest phase?

Thank you in advance for the possible answer.

Have a good one,
Stipovski
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Only once when making it the active location.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dale Stephenson
United States
Buford
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are three kind of effects you typically find on locations. The Travel keyword indicates something you must do or suffer in order to travel to the location. For example, Great Forest Web in the core set says "Travel: Each player must exhaust 1 hero he controls to travel here." If any player doesn't have a hero to exhaust, the location cannot be traveled to.

Other locations have a Response, typically triggered by traveling to the location. For example, Old Forest Road syas "Response: After you travel to Old Forest Road, the first player may choose and ready 1 character he controls." If the first player has no characters capable of being readied, you can still travel to Old Forest Road. Responses are always optional.

The third effect is Forced, with the forced trigger being specified as part of the text. For example, Gladden Fields says "Forced: While Gladden Fields is the active location, each player must raise his threat by an additional point during the refresh phase." This does nothing outside the refresh phase. A travel-related Forced effect can be found in The Brown Lands, saying "Forced: After the players travel to The Brown Lands, place 1 progress token on it." This will immediately explore The Brown Lands.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matej Stiplovšek
msg tools
Thank you again for the quick response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.