Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

BattleLore (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Runic Barrier rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Muhammad Azwan Dahlan
Malaysia
Kepala Batas
Penang
flag msg tools
badge
Wahatever you do... DON'T... FALL... ASLEEP...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Play after your opponent plays a lore card. Your opponent DISCARDS his lore card without paying its lore cost OR resolving its effects."

Do opponent's lore card trigger after Runic Barrier?

We had an argument on the word 'or' on Runic Barrier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Kendrick
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
E pluribus unum
badge
Avatar
mb
Lore cards are never triggered. The player decides to play them. They can only be played in specific moments in the game (the first sentence on the lore card describes the conditions when the card may be played).

Runic Banner reads:

"Play after your opponent plays a lore card. Your opponent discards his Lore card without paying its lore cost or resolving its effects."


Effectively:

The opponent's lore card is simply discarded. The opponent does not pay the cost and the discarded lore card has no effect.
8 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Park
Canada
flag msg tools
A bit of Boolean Logic applied:
(De Morgan's Laws)

not-(A and B) = (not-A) or (not-B)

not-(A or B) = (not-A) and (not-B)

Basically when the card says: "the opponent doesn't do this or that." it's the same as: "the opponent doesn't do this AND the opponent doesn't do that."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julien Fernandez
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
On the French card it's very clear

Barrière Runique = (Runnic Barrier)

Jouable après que votre adversaire a joué sa carte Arcane
= Play after your opponent play a lore card

Votre adversaire défausse sa carte Arcane sans payer son coût et sans résoudre ses effets
= Your opponent discards his lore card without paying its lore cost and without resolving its effects
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Muhammad Azwan Dahlan
Malaysia
Kepala Batas
Penang
flag msg tools
badge
Wahatever you do... DON'T... FALL... ASLEEP...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much. Great explaination!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garrett
United States
Laredo
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On a related note, since you play Runic Barrier after your opponent plays a lore card, then they cannot play another lore card this turn because they've still played one, even though the effects were canceled. So even though they still keep their lore, they need to wait a turn before playing any other Lore cards. That is -- I think -- an overlooked strength of Runic Barrier.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed. And I think the wording on Runic Barrier was written carefully to emphasize that. It never actually says anything about "canceling" the card, just that it's discarded with no effect and no cost. Basically, turns the opponent's Lore card into a 0-cost, blank Lore card
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.