Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Foreign War card text versus 2017 Rule 21.7 text rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Wasserman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The text of each of the Foreign War cards (War in Persia, Revolt in Egypt, and Revolt in Ireland) says that the non-player forces "start with [4/3/3] land units." However, Rule 21.7 of the 2017 Rulebook states that after the targeted power moves units to the card, the "power playing the event then specifies the strength of the foreign army." Does that mean the phrase "start with" in the card text should be read as "start with up to"? If so, is there any minimum starting force?

2. The text of each of the Foreign War cards (War in Persia, Revolt in Egypt, and Revolt in Ireland) says that if the player power's "strength drops below [5/4/4], all new [major power] land unit builds must be placed on card until total of [5/4/4] is restored." However, Rule 21.7 of the 2017 Rulebook states, "Major powers may construct new land units directly onto a foreign war card that they are fighting. However a major power may never have more units on a foreign war card than originally called for by the event." Is the intent of these two texts taken together to stress that a major power is never required to build back up to the original strength on the Foreign War card, but must do so if it wants to add any land units to the map?

Thanks for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) That language is there for Revolt in Ireland; in the other cases, the “specification” is forced. “Start with” means what it says; there is no latitude.

2) Yes.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.