Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gettysburg: Badges of Courage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Terrain rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Wright
United States
Grovetown
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I need some help here.

I understand that there are some terrain features that are considered hexside features like rivers etc....

Woods I believe are hex features. Does that mean that a whole hex is considered a woods hex with the -1 fire modifier even if only one or two "trees" are actually pictured in the hex? Seems odd.

any help would be appreciated.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry van der Werff
Netherlands
Zuidlaren
Drenthe
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TERRAIN
From the request the following questions can be discerned:
1. Are woods hex features?
2. Does the depiction in a hex of one or two trees determine the terrain type of that whole hex as woods? What determines the terrain type of a whole hex as woods?

WOODS HEX & HEXSIDE TERRAIN
According to rule 2.2 “Some terrain, like Woods, can be both hex and hexside terrain.” A hex can be made up of woods terrain (example: hex G7), one (1) or more of its hexsides can be made up of woods terrain (examples: hex P12, hex M3), or both (example: hex S8).

To answer the first question: no, woods terrain can be hex terrain, hexside terrain or both.

WOODS HEX TERRAIN
Generally the terrain type depicted in the center of a hex and in its surroundings (not its hexsides) determines the terrain type of a (whole) hex. Example: hex G7; its center and its surroundings (not hexsides) make it a woods hex .
The size (density) of a specific terrain type depicted in a hex can be an indication of the terrain type of a hex, but it is not always conclusive. Example: hex M3; the center is clear terrain as well as its surroundings (not hexsides). One (1) tree doesn’t make a forest nor does a clump of trees.
It can be a matter of debate whether or not the exact center of hex N13 is made up of woods, a minor road or clear terrain. However, the specific terrain type of its surroundings (not its hexsides) and the density thereof do make it a woods hex.

To answer the second question: the depiction in a hex of some woods features does not determine the terrain of that (entire) hex as being a woods hex.

FIRE COMBAT
Rule 5.22: “Hence firing through a Woods hexside is -1 (B2=B1).”
Rule 5.24: “Some hexes (not hexsides) give D2 to defending units.”
According to the Terrain Effects chart on page 12 of the rulebook, woods & rocks hexes (not hexsides) provide double defense for the defending units.
When firing at defending units in a woods hex through a woods hexside the firepower of the attacker is reduced by one (1) and it takes two (2) hits to reduce the strength value of a defending unit by one (1).


Relevant rules & information (Rules Version 1.2)
Page 2: 2.0 MAP5
Page 2: 2.2 Terrain & Hexside Terrain
Page 2: sidebar Hex vs Hexside Terrain
Page 5: 5.0 FIRE COMBAT
Page 5: 5.22 Terrain Effects
Page 5: 5.24 Double Defense
Page 5: sidebar Double Defense
Page 6: 6.3 Movement Points (MP)
Page 6: 6.4 Terrain & Movement
Page 12: Terrain Effects chart

3 
 Thumb up
6.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan van der Laan
Netherlands
Leeuwarden
Friesland
flag msg tools
badge
Als u begrijpt wat ik bedoel.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jehoshaphat wrote:
TERRAIN
From the request the following questions can be discerned:
1. Are woods hex features?
2. Does the depiction in a hex of one or two trees determine the terrain type of that whole hex as woods? What determines the terrain type of a whole hex as woods?

WOODS HEX & HEXSIDE TERRAIN
According to rule 2.2 “Some terrain, like Woods, can be both hex and hexside terrain.” A hex can be made up of woods terrain (example: hex G7), one (1) or more of its hexsides can be made up of woods terrain (examples: hex P12, hex M3), or both (example: hex S8).

To answer the first question: no, woods terrain can be hex terrain, hexside terrain or both.

WOODS HEX TERRAIN
Generally the terrain type depicted in the center of a hex and in its surroundings (not its hexsides) determines the terrain type of a (whole) hex. Example: hex G7; its center and its surroundings (not hexsides) make it a woods hex .
The size (density) of a specific terrain type depicted in a hex can be an indication of the terrain type of a hex, but it is not always conclusive. Example: hex M3; the center is clear terrain as well as its surroundings (not hexsides). One (1) tree doesn’t make a forest nor does a clump of trees.
It can be a matter of debate whether or not the exact center of hex N13 is made up of woods, a minor road or clear terrain. However, the specific terrain type of its surroundings (not its hexsides) and the density thereof do make it a woods hex.

To answer the second question: the depiction in a hex of some woods features does not determine the terrain of that (entire) hex as being a woods hex.

FIRE COMBAT
Rule 5.22: “Hence firing through a Woods hexside is -1 (B2=B1).”
Rule 5.24: “Some hexes (not hexsides) give D2 to defending units.”
According to the Terrain Effects chart on page 12 of the rulebook, woods & rocks hexes (not hexsides) provide double defense for the defending units.
When firing at defending units in a woods hex through a woods hexside the firepower of the attacker is reduced by one (1) and it takes two (2) hits to reduce the strength value of a defending unit by one (1).


Relevant rules & information (Rules Version 1.2)
Page 2: 2.0 MAP5
Page 2: 2.2 Terrain & Hexside Terrain
Page 2: sidebar Hex vs Hexside Terrain
Page 5: 5.0 FIRE COMBAT
Page 5: 5.22 Terrain Effects
Page 5: 5.24 Double Defense
Page 5: sidebar Double Defense
Page 6: 6.3 Movement Points (MP)
Page 6: 6.4 Terrain & Movement
Page 12: Terrain Effects chart

Wow, now THAT’s an answer for sure. A nomination for *Official GBoC answering guy* seems appropriate. Much obliged Harry.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wright
United States
Grovetown
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry van der Werff
Netherlands
Zuidlaren
Drenthe
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To y'all: much obliged!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.