Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Critical hit rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jon carter
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
My opponent and I interpret the rules and the chart on the map differently. The chart says that you get one times hits plus a critical hit. If attacker factors are enough to flip but not eliminate a sole defending unit, does the critical hit cause a second loss, eliminating the unit, even though there were not enough hits to do so by regular rules?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Brinker
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
Grognards
badge
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook 9.2.F.6

The critical hit does not cause a second loss.

It does allow a loss to be applied to the weakest unit in the case that there were not enough hits otherwise. If more than one unit fits that condition, then it is the choice of the reaction player.

It also allows that one applied hit may be done in contradiction to 9.2.F.2, which states that normally no opposing unit can be eliminated until all opposing units have already been reduced.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Petri P
Finland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
binkman wrote:
Rulebook 9.2.F.6

It also allows that one applied hit may be done in contradiction to 9.2.F.2, which states that normally no opposing unit can be eliminated until all opposing units have already been reduced.


One applied hit, or all applied hits?

The rule says:

6. Critical Hit. If a critical hit is achieved (by an unmodified nine
die roll or due to an event), the player may circumvent the restriction
of case number 2 above, eliminating units while other full strength
units remain
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That portion of the rule you quote just allows you to ignore certain restrictions when you apply your hits. If you cause 40 hits against 4 air units normally you would need to flip all of them. The critical allows youto ignore this rule and apply hits all 40 hits to two air units eliminating them.

It doesn't imply additional second losses.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Petri P
Finland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was asking about the "one" in the answer vs multiple "units" in the rules.

Your answer is the the same as the rules say - if you get critical 40 against 4x "10" strength full air units, you can ignore the restriction completely, and kill two full air units.

Meanwhile, if it was restricted to "one" - that would imply to me that you get to ignore the restriction once, e.g. at most killing one full air unit and flipping two.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, there's confusion here. The "one" refers to a situation where you don't have enough strength to hit ANY single opposing unit. For example you have just a lone LRB (2 or 4) or a reduced air (5).

In that scenario a critical would allow you to to inflict a step loss on the weakest opposing unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.