Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: King of tokyo with 5 players rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kenneth Young
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
can a different player be in tokyo bay and tokyo city at the same time? If yes when damage to them by outside players do both take damage can they both yield or can one go out and one stay in? Also if one player is in tokoyo bay no one in tokoyo city if the one in tokoyo bay doesn't yield does the player who gives damage go to tokoyo city. can both players yield from one attack by one player? thanks Kenney
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laura Creighton
Sweden
Göteborg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
danceken1 wrote:
can a different player be in tokyo bay and tokyo city at the same time? If yes when damage to them by outside players do both take damage can they both yield or can one go out and one stay in? Also if one player is in tokoyo bay no one in tokoyo city if the one in tokoyo bay doesn't yield does the player who gives damage go to tokoyo city. can both players yield from one attack by one player? thanks Kenney


Depends on whether you are playing first or second edition rules, as there were changes/clarifications. I only have first edition rules here, and in Swedish too, so I am not the correct person to answer this. I have flagged this note to get it moved to the King of Tokyo Rules forum which is a better place to ask such things. If it doesn't get moved soon you could re-ask there. Or you could look there and see if somebody has already discussed the rule changes in detail; that happens a lot too.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Edition doesn't really matter.
danceken1 wrote:
can a different player be in tokyo bay and tokyo city at the same time?

Yes. In games of 5+ players there can be two players in Tokyo at the same time.
danceken1 wrote:
If yes when damage to them by outside players do both take damage can they both yield or can one go out and one stay in?

Both take damage, and both have the option of staying or yielding.
danceken1 wrote:
Also if one player is in tokoyo bay no one in tokoyo city if the one in tokoyo bay doesn't yield does the player who gives damage go to tokoyo city.

Yes. If there is an empty place in Tokyo, the attacking player must enter (they enter City if both are empty)
danceken1 wrote:
can both players yield from one attack by one player?

Yes.


Most of the time there is no difference between Tokyo City and Tokyo Bay. You are either 'in Tokyo' or 'not in Tokyo'.
If/when the game drops to only 4 players, then Tokyo Bay stops being used. The player currently in Tokyo Bay either goes to City if it is empty, or goes outside.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl G
United States
Glendale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The easiest way to think about it is if there are 5 or more players, then 2 players are on the board. All players on the board are treated the same. Anyone on the board hits all players off the board, and players off the board hit all players on the board. Both may yield. Then the person that hit them moves onto the board. The other empty spot will then be taken by the next person to roll a claw, like at the start of the game.

As soon as there are 4 or less players remaining, the board only holds one player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.