Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

The Thing: Infection at Outpost 31» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sabotage and swaps? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Edward Woods
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After a Sabotage card is resolved can it be swapped out? Some missions will automatically fail if you cannot do this (depending on player count) even if the Sabotage is resolved successfully.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Laporte
France
Limeil-Brevannes
Val de Marne
flag msg tools
We played it as the sabotage card being discarded as soon as it is resolved, as in most games, "resolved" means to apply the effects of the card and then discard it. Don't have the rule book right now so can't check.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Boyd
United States
Chico
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
That sounds correct to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neilan Naicker
United States
Santa Monica
flag msg tools
badge
Board Game Barrage Podcast
Avatar
mbmbmb
This is a good question! I hadn't even considered that they might not get removed from the pool.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael N.
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We have also been playing that it is discarded once resolved.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie
United States
Belmont
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Most definitely a sabotage resolves and discards!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neilan Naicker
United States
Santa Monica
flag msg tools
badge
Board Game Barrage Podcast
Avatar
mbmbmb
isthar wrote:
Most definitely a sabotage resolves and discards!


Source?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf Cordero
United States
Bolingbrook
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Even if they do get removed from the pool, there are missions you'll fail even if you successfully resolve the sabotage. There are some missions that say "At least 4 [whatevers]". If 4 people are on the team and 1 throws a sabotage, if you can't replace the Sabotage then it's a guaranteed failure.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Moore
United States
Salem
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drstrnge wrote:
After a Sabotage card is resolved can it be swapped out?


Huh. Upon review of the rulebook, it doesn't actually state that Sabotages are discarded after being resolved, only that they must be "dealt with" when revealed. Our interpretation was that a Sabotage is discarded once resolved because that seems like how most games would handle that type of card, but the rules in their present state are ambiguous about it.
The main reason why you should probably discard them after resolving is when the Captain is first handed cards, he has to resolve Sabotages at that point. If the team successfully gets through those and then the Captain does his swap out a card and reshuffle the pool thing and the mission asks you to reveal all cards, any Sabotages that were still in the pool at that point would need to be resolved...again. So if you want a harder game for the humans, keep them in the pool I guess, but the odds are good that the designer intended for Sabotages to be discarded after being resolved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Van Wetering
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
KingRob wrote:
drstrnge wrote:
After a Sabotage card is resolved can it be swapped out?


Huh. Upon review of the rulebook, it doesn't actually state that Sabotages are discarded after being resolved, only that they must be "dealt with" when revealed. Our interpretation was that a Sabotage is discarded once resolved because that seems like how most games would handle that type of card, but the rules in their present state are ambiguous about it.
The main reason why you should probably discard them after resolving is when the Captain is first handed cards, he has to resolve Sabotages at that point. If the team successfully gets through those and then the Captain does his swap out a card and reshuffle the pool thing and the mission asks you to reveal all cards, any Sabotages that were still in the pool at that point would need to be resolved...again. So if you want a harder game for the humans, keep them in the pool I guess, but the odds are good that the designer intended for Sabotages to be discarded after being resolved.


Yeah the intention is that they are discarded, guess "resolved" needs to be more clear. Taking note of this, to hopefully update in future editions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf Cordero
United States
Bolingbrook
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joevw wrote:

Yeah the intention is that they are discarded, guess "resolved" needs to be more clear. Taking note of this, to hopefully update in future editions.


Can you confirm whether or not the Captain gets to draw a replacement card, and if not that the intent is that it becomes an auto-fail for missions that require a specific number of cards?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
joshua garrison
United States
Wooster
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I’m not joe but no replacements are taken for sabotage cards and it would be auto fail if they can not be resolved. There is a sabotage card “someone got to the blood” that is an auto fail no matter what.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf Cordero
United States
Bolingbrook
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah I'm thinking of the sabotage cards that you can resolve, but missions that require "X" number of cards.

Example: Captain takes a 4 man team on a mission that says "At least 4 cards of +1 dice or more". One of the initial 4 cards submitted is a sabotage that the captain can resolve. If they do, do they fail any way because they don't have 4 cards?

That's how we played it, and thus the captain wouldn't bother resolving.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Woods
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is the situation we were having in our game that left us a bit puzzled.
It seemed to make the game super hard with four players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.